Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-03-2003, 07:34 AM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austria - St. Pölten
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Problem with "Smooth" Polygon

Hello friends !

Well, I´ve modelled a simple hard and primitve car modell.
The model was made with polygones.

Now, I have really hard edges - and I want to smooth the edges.

I´ve tried the "smooth" tool - okay, I´ve set the subdivisions on 1 - so it´s not soo smooth.

but if I use this tool, my model is soo big smoothed, that you can´t see the model like it should be. There is a really big smooth distortion on the model, so that the form of the car will unbelieveable damaged.

hmm, sorry for my bad english, I hope the description was okay.

what can I do to prevent such distortion if I want to smooth my object and hold the origianl form (model)?

bernhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2003, 02:22 PM   #2
The Maya Mountain
mtmckinley's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

You may just need to soften your edges. Edit Polygons > Normals > Soften/Harden Edges. Choose soft in options.

This thread might help you with your smooth problem:
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2003, 01:42 AM   #3
Registered User
Ultragames's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

try highlighting all the faces, and going Edit Polygons > Subdivide.

Thats the only trick i know so far.
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2003, 08:38 PM   #4
Vectorman's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Framingham, MA United States
Posts: 1,112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

This should get you started

"When you are born, you have a resposiblilty to program you're own mind, if you do not accept this responsiblilty, then the world will do it for you"
Aol Instant messenger: mrcoolbp2
Vectorman is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.