Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-04-2003, 04:30 AM   #1
Lane243
Registered User
 
Lane243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Need some help...

I am new to maya and I have designed a few simple things (nothing hard at all), so I decided that my next project would be some sort of gun... so I found a image for a gun and I was wondering how I could put the image in the background of the view in Maya to model over... if you can even understand that :p
(btw I am running Maya 4.5)

Thanks in advance
Lane243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 04:37 AM   #2
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

CHeck this out:

http://www.simplymaya.com/movie_page...html?tut_id=24
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 03:30 PM   #3
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

hmm... that is for creating a static image plane... normally used for refs,, and if you want one that will stay in the background o fthe view, then goto:

Window -> Rendering Editors -> Multilister -> cameras (tab)

double click perspShape and scroll down (if you have a low res screen), click the box on the right of the [Image Plane], which is in the environment tab, then rest is self explaining
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 09:30 PM   #4
strarup
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Lane,

if you want to use the method Tariqrf mentions I have just uploaded a tutorial about Setting up an image plane in Maya here... -->
http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...5091#post45091

it is for a car thou but the steps that have to be made is pretty much the same...

regards

Strarup
__________________
------------------------------------------------
Alex V. U. Strarup

One mistake can ruin it all...
strarup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 09:45 PM   #5
Lane243
Registered User
 
Lane243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks all very much for the very helpful tips!
Lane243 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.