Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-04-2003, 10:24 PM   #1
LSphinx
Registered User
 
LSphinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question quick question about curves... :)

hello everyone, here is a quick question for curves...
when you have a curve, and you would like it to have a shape of whatever thingy you've made.... like a circle or a square, how do you do that....
like for example if i want to make a column, or a donat.... please help...
thanx in advance mates.... :-)
LSphinx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 10:37 PM   #2
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

please be so kind as to post this in the nurbs forum heh

well you have a curve, then you have another curve, and another to define the shape of your object, then you use the loft tool to build the actual surface
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 10:44 PM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

or any of the Surfaces menu tools.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 10:56 PM   #4
LSphinx
Registered User
 
LSphinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

wOw,.. :banana: , thanx a lot guys.... that really helped... I'm trying to do this physics project about this fusion reactor stuff.... really crazy.... anyway,... thanx again..
i'll be back with more questions ..
:banana:
LSphinx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 11:51 PM   #5
LSphinx
Registered User
 
LSphinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

another problem,... why does it give me these strange cuts and stuff... why not strait and perfect just as the lines are???
LSphinx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 11:56 PM   #6
LSphinx
Registered User
 
LSphinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

what i really like to do is to wrap these 3 curves and make it as a kind of a bent wire... hmm...
if you have any propositions, please post :p
thanx...
LSphinx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 12:09 AM   #7
LSphinx
Registered User
 
LSphinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

one more thing..
first of all, what I really wanted to make, was the wire (a curve) with an area of a rectangle....
I did this in 3DSMax once... that's why im trying to do it here... . There, you simply select a curve, then select a function which you wana use, and then it gives you an option: what shape would i like to make the area of whatever curve I draw... and then you draw a shape.... and you select it,... and it gives you this perfectly beautiful cord with a shape of whatever 2D figure i drue for the area... ....
i'm really trying to do this in Maya,,,
thanx for any help you can offer...
LSphinx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 04:19 AM   #8
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Sounds like you want to do an Extrude command. Create a profile curve, create a path curve. Select Profile first, select path second. Surfaces > Extrude.

If it doesn't follow the path, in the channel box, you should see the extrude channel. Select it and turn the first 2 "off" options "on."
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 12:34 AM   #9
LSphinx
Registered User
 
LSphinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeeeh, thanx a LOT man, now that really what I was looking for.... HEHEHE... now I can work my stuff.... to the end!!!...lol
thanx again mate.... :-)
LSphinx is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.