Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-05-2003, 04:00 PM   #1
danrocha
Subscriber
 
danrocha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Campinas - SP - Brazil
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question applying textures in large surfaces

Hi there

I have a model of a builind, with large surfaces of wall and roof. I want to apply a brick texture to the wals and a tile texture to the roof. It works fine, but...

Look at the image. I doesn`t look natural! It looks like a repeating pattern, which derives from the texture map being repeated, right? But how can I change this? Do I have to insert a larger map file already with the imperfections or is there a way to produce theses imperfections in maya using this same texture map?

Thanx a lot in advance
Daniel
danrocha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2003, 10:05 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

the larger the texture that is repeated, the fewer patterns.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2003, 04:19 PM   #3
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Mike is right.

The way I personnaly go about texturing large-appearing surfaces, is with the use of my UV snapshot.

I'll then add my texture to that larger surface, rather than outright tiling it, so it appears to be one large UNinterrupted surface.

Does that make sense?
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2003, 06:11 PM   #4
septentrio
Subscriber
 
septentrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dunkerque, Flanders, France
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes,

Use at least a 1024*1024 pixels texture map
then open up your texture map in photoshop and add dirt, spots of lichen wherever it needs...

Hope it'll help
__________________
Today man, tomorrow bird...i already have the plumage
septentrio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2003, 08:54 PM   #5
danrocha
Subscriber
 
danrocha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Campinas - SP - Brazil
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanx to you alll... I'll try to do it... :banana:


Daniel
danrocha is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.