Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-05-2003, 10:04 PM   #1
tony
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default create cd surface

hi gang
i'm trying to create a spinning cd animation, but i can't get the diffraction texture to radiate out from the centre - i just get parallel lines

i'm putting the texture on to a flattened poly cylinder - acan anyone tell me where i'm going wrong

cheers
tony
tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2003, 10:17 PM   #2
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Can you post a screenshot? or image?
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2003, 10:34 PM   #3
tony
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi, adldesigner
here is a screenshot

tony
tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2003, 01:56 AM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Do you have your shader settings like this image from A|W?

(notice that METHOD is set to CD)
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2003, 02:44 AM   #5
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

....theres a CD shader..? Man, where have I been
__________________
- Hybrid
I-Iybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2003, 09:16 AM   #6
tony
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi, rage

attached the shader settings - method is set to cd - could it be because i'm trying to put effect on the end of a cylinder that's causing problems

is there a better way to approach this?

seems like the basic problem is to get the shader to wrap in a circle rather than staight - i'm still learning basics so haven't quite got a handle on how it all works yet

cheers
t
tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2003, 03:36 PM   #7
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

hmmm.. yeah, it might be your cylinder geometry... not sure tho...

Have you mapped the cylinder cap with a projection before applying the shader?

...sorry, kinda out of my league here... anyone wanna chime in?
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2003, 04:47 PM   #8
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Well, I just downloaded the shader and built a quick CD using a pair of lofted concentric circles. Using the settings from A|W's site, I got it in the general ballpark (see attached image). I also created a pair of cylinders - one poly and one NURBS - and applied the shader. The results are what they should be and not that extreme rainbow effect that you're getting so my first guess is it has something to do with either your geometry, the camera angle, and the shader's brightness setting...or a combination perhaps.

Try this: create a NURBS circle, duplicate and scale it to create the inner hole. Then loft between the two. Now, apply your shader using the settings Rage posted, do an IPR render and start tweaking settings. If you look at the AW settings screenshot, they've connected additional nodes so don't be afraid to experiment a little bit.

Hope this helps some.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2003, 04:53 PM   #9
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Crap, can someone delete this and the duplicate post above for me?
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2003, 12:31 AM   #10
tony
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

many thanks, nitro

it was lofting between the circles that did the trick

knocked this up in a few minutes after that

t
tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2003, 01:54 AM   #11
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Great!

Thanks again Nitro!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2003, 08:50 PM   #12
tony
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, so far, so good

next thing is i want to attach a file to the transparency input of the diffraction shader (to get the clear bit on the outer and inner edges) - have been trying for ages, and all that happens is the image turns black

have tried the same things with objects with just a regular shader - and it works - anyone have any idea why ican't do it with the diffraction shader

cheers,
t
tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2003, 11:56 PM   #13
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

I havn't looked at the shader to see if there is an editable, or locked-out transparency node,
but try making a layered shader with:
-a basic Blinn on the bottom containing your ramp transparency,
-then add the diffraction shader on top of that at about 80% opacity with a blend mode of ADD.
(or try them all to see what might work best for a blend mode

Good luck!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2003, 02:47 AM   #14
M
Subscriber
 
M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,250
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Default

hey tony.. looks like from that render you showed.... you may want to do a y axis planar map on that thing . It could solve that line down one side. Looks good though
__________________
"I should call you sugar maple tree cause i'd totally tap that" haha

email - mattwettstein@gmail.com
M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2003, 03:40 AM   #15
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Transparency is editable (r,g,b). I haven't had the time to play with it, though.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.