Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-05-2003, 03:09 AM   #1
none
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How do I delete nodes?

I have 433 "delete component" nodes and they are slowing down Maya alot (it takes several minutes to do anything)

So I open the attribute editor, select one of the hundreds of "delete component" nodes, and then i click on the "attributes" drop down window and select "delete attribute". A "delete attribute" window pops-up but nothing happens, the node is still there.

Can someone explain to me how it's done?

thx for any help.
none is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2003, 03:21 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

you should just be able to select it and hit teh "delete' keyboard key.

Try running a File > Optimize Scene Size.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2003, 03:51 AM   #3
none
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I tried the optimize scene option but it didn't work.

you should just be able to select it and hit teh "delete' keyboard key.
what window do i have to be in to do that?
none is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2003, 04:30 AM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

are you talking about history? Edit > Delete by Type > History.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2003, 04:59 AM   #5
none
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cool.

so i deleted the history and now it's running as smooth as butter!

will there be any negative effects due to the history being gone?
none is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2003, 05:18 AM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

deleting history "bakes" whatever changes that have been done into the model... so for example, if I were to perform a Smooth on a poly object, I could raise or lower the number of divisions in that smooth as much as I wanted later on if the history was still present... after deleting history, whatever state that smooth modifier was in is then "final."
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.