Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-05-2003, 02:26 AM   #1
darkwing25
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default terrain generation

How do you make terrain using maya? Is there any way to make a terrain from a grayscale bitmap?
darkwing25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2003, 02:44 AM   #2
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I don't think you can in Maya. Sorry.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2003, 03:10 AM   #3
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Of course he can Darkware.

He could map a displacement texture to a polygon plane with lot´s of subdivisions. I don´t know how he could bake it though, but I´m sure others could have that answer.
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2003, 03:11 AM   #4
mshoward82
Registered User
 
mshoward82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 227
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There's several ways to go about it.

check these out:

SM Link 1

SM Link 2

SM Link 3
__________________
- Matt
mshoward82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2003, 03:22 AM   #5
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

There are alot of ways to model terrain but one thing I just came across you might be interested in is a little plugin called DEM2TGA which converts 1:250,000 scale (DEM) data and creates a TGA (Targa Image) files from it. You can download USGS geographic data (in DEM format) via the web to base your geometry on actual terrain, convert to TGA and use that in a displacement map.

Other than that, you could use the sculpt surfaces tool to push and pull geometry into shape.....or just model the geometry by hand. This all I can think of off the top of my head.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2003, 03:26 AM   #6
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Damn, I type slow....you guys beat me to the post (I forgot about that old mountain render in smhoward's 3rd link).
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."

Last edited by NitroLiq : 21-05-2003 at 03:32 AM.
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2003, 03:33 AM   #7
drknow
Registered User
 
drknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,033
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Yes. There are a ton of terrain generator plugins for maya. Maybe not a ton, but a lot. Look at the plugin section of highend3d.com.
__________________
It's Dr. Know, Not Darknow
drknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2003, 04:07 AM   #8
mshoward82
Registered User
 
mshoward82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 227
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

NitroLiq - That old mountain renderer is one of the greatest i've seen. I like it.

Oh, and sorry for stealing your thunder. LOL

See it can be done in Maya. Anything can be done in Maya. If you can imagine it it can be done. Somehow.
__________________
- Matt
mshoward82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 04:08 PM   #9
Saiyan
Registered User
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Check out Terragen....I looked around for some info on exporting to maya and the closest I got was something for 3d max...anyways check it out.


http://www.terrasource.net/#workwith

http://www.planetside.co.uk/terragen/
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 06:54 PM   #10
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Like was said in in smhoward's 3rd link, to "BAKE" the displacement, you would simply convert your displacement to polygons, and smooth
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2003, 06:12 AM   #11
Bond
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Or try just making a really large plane and then use the sculpt tool and pull the terrain up. works for me.
Bond is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.