Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-05-2003, 08:35 PM   #1
wuthoqquan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Question Error with Maya 5.0

Hi,

sorry to bother with another question after only a few hours... but I still have some doubts on the startup of Maya 5.0.

Whenever I start the program, just before the initialization process is completed, the following error message is displayed in the Command Feedback line, for less than a sec:

Error: Could not create command port : old-odxe7caj97o:7845

If then I open the Script Editor to display more of the history, I can check that this error message is located among the very first command lines, as follows:

file -f -new;
// Result: ./untitled //
docServer(1);
// Error: Could not create command port : old-odxe7caj97o:7845 //
// MayaLive version updateRendererUI;
...
...

Could someone please explain the reason for this error?

Still I do not understand why the Output Window shows up everytime I start Maya 5.0.

Thanks again for your help,
Avoosl
wuthoqquan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2003, 11:16 PM   #2
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

not beeing able to open a port usually means you dont have the right to do so. maybe you have firewall software running - or you dont have a privileged account. other than that i dont know what exactly causes the problem within maya - i dont see that error when i boot up maya. maya should try to listen to that port - after i open maya this port is open.

and dont worry to bother too much - only because you are new to maya does not mean anybody here will rip of your head
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2003, 11:25 AM   #3
wuthoqquan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks for your answer!

This morning I started Maya... I was not connected to the internet and I noticed that in this situation the error does not appear...

I couldn't check it better, but could it be that the error in question was caused by mIRC, which usually opens other ports and that I was using yesterday when the error message appeared in the Command Feedback line?

Anyway, does this represent a problem for the functionality of Maya? Why, however, Maya should be try to listen to that port?

Thanks again!
wuthoqquan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2003, 11:51 AM   #4
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

it should not represent a problem for the functionality of maya unless you try to network render. but dont ask me how that works, i dont know.
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.