Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 31-05-2003, 03:56 PM   #1
contrast
Registered User
 
contrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Do people tend to model "to scale"?

Hello,

I am getting ready to start a new project and I began reading about the gird in detail and that brought up a question. Do you tend to model your object "to scale". What I mean is, if you want a 6 foot tall character, do you set the preferences to use inches, then set your grid to display every 12 units, then make your model 6 grid lines tall?

I am starting a 6 foot tall character and I don't want to slow down maya by making the object larger than it should be, but then again I don't want to make the model the scale of an ant either. Should after I have modeled many different objects in differnt files, be able to bring them all together than have them be to scale to each other, or does this not matter? I know that the final render is really all that matters, but this just feels like if I head off in the wrong direction, I will pay for it later. Thanks.
contrast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2003, 04:24 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

at work we do build things to scale.

We set our grid options as follows:

Length and Width: 32
Grid Lines every: 16
Subdivisions: 16

Also give our Grid Lines and Numbers a black color. We leave the actual unit size at its default centimeters as that does not really matter. We treat each unit as a foot in this manner, so buildings will have 6' + tall openings so characters will fit through.

I should mention that all studios will have their own way of doing things, but it's a good habit to get used to building things to some kind of scale.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2003, 04:57 PM   #3
contrast
Registered User
 
contrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile

Thank you very much Mike for that insight. Very helpful.
contrast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.