Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-06-2003, 02:08 PM   #1
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default GI render test

everybody is having so much fun with gi_joe so i looked for something to make my renders a bit nicer w/o much work. i found a nice plugin at highend3d - RealFakeGI - it does not need a big light setup as gi_joe does. and the results are very nice. what do you think?

c&c welcome
Attached Thumbnails
 
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2003, 02:27 PM   #2
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

looks good! I guess the problem With RealFakeGI and why its not as popular as GI_Joe is because of where Geomety meets. With GI_Joe, you can get nice Shadows where geomety meet, but with RealFakeGI, you don't get those nice shadows. for example, take alook at where the Cone meets the Ground plane. Hmm.... I am trying something out.. I will post another reply in a little bit. Thanks,
Brian
__________________
Please check
My (old) website!
brian_ellebracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2003, 02:32 PM   #3
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

the ground plane is not affected by realfakegi at all, it is just a lambert.
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2003, 02:35 PM   #4
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

ok. thats cool... if you are experimenting with it still, would you mind intersecting the cone and the torus? I was just currious how they would look if they intersected, Just wondering. Thanks
Brian
__________________
Please check
My (old) website!
brian_ellebracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2003, 04:00 PM   #5
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

oh sure. was just stepped out. and i guess you are right. sharp borders dont look so well. but for showing off only one smooth object, i think it is useable
Attached Thumbnails
 
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2003, 04:36 PM   #6
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

and a more realistic object. the monster. on top of the plugin is only one pointlight for the shadow
Attached Thumbnails
 
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 01:14 AM   #7
Witchy
Subscriber
 
Witchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for highlighting that BabyDuck- will make a change from GI_Joe and offer a few more 'mood' options. Shall try it out.

When it says;

'Source the RealFakeGILight.mel and RealFakeGIEditor.mel to use the Lightsets and to edit them'.

What does it mean by 'source'? I installed the plugin through the plugin manager but cannot get it to work- I tried typing both things in the script editor but no joy. Any help gratefully recieved 8)

Last edited by Witchy : 05-06-2003 at 09:55 AM.
Witchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 11:33 AM   #8
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

you have to type "source XXX.mel" - i made two buttons. one shelf buttons does this:
source RealFakeGILight.mel;
RealFakeGILight;
the other:
source RealFakeGIEditor.mel;
RealFakeGIEditor;
the source command is just to define the command, and then i execute them.

hope that helps some
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 05:22 PM   #9
Witchy
Subscriber
 
Witchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Aha thanks for that. Wish it had a slightly better readme! I am fairly new to the world of plugins and scripts (shame things are not more like Danny's which have good instructions) so thanks for the assistance. It needs a little idiots guide! Any tips on achieving various effects?
Witchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM
New Feature: Post videos David Members Lounge 8 09-12-2010 07:54 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.