Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-06-2003, 10:31 PM   #1
EagleKing
Lifetime Member
 
EagleKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 976
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default cant start maya after MR installation

grrr...I cant model anymore.
I just installed mental ray and activated it (plugin manager) but now everytime I want to start maya it gets closed when its loaded.....grrrrrrrr

I know I could simply remove MR but I want to use it..

could anyone help me please?
EagleKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 05:07 AM   #2
EagleKing
Lifetime Member
 
EagleKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 976
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

come on...please...
EagleKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 02:58 PM   #3
Black Robe
Registered User
 
Black Robe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 131
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you dont need to use MR.You could always use normal lighting, or GI_Joe.I prefer just normal lighting though...check this, It took me bout 30 secs to do.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
Black_Robe

''Where do we go now?Where do we go now?...''
Black Robe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 03:06 PM   #4
EagleKing
Lifetime Member
 
EagleKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 976
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

nah. I wanna use Mental ray anyway...
EagleKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 03:09 PM   #5
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

uninstall it!

if that dont work, uninstall maya and re-instal

try loading it all on again - if it dont work then call the mental ray team for help, they will help you dude
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 10:09 PM   #6
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

what was the lighting set you used there out of interest robe?
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 10:20 PM   #7
Black Robe
Registered User
 
Black Robe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 131
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

three-point lighting. I can send you the lighting setup if you want...I'll upload it or sumthing...
__________________
Black_Robe

''Where do we go now?Where do we go now?...''
Black Robe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.