Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-06-2003, 03:14 PM   #1
animatress
Registered User
 
animatress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default help with mental ray

Can anyone help or direct me to a tutorial to render with mental ray. I am experiencing problems. I cant get mental ray to properly batch render and I've tried many things. So any help would be appreciated.
animatress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 03:43 PM   #2
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

what problem are you having?
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 04:01 PM   #3
animatress
Registered User
 
animatress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

k I created a scene and I try to batch render with mental ray and it doesnt work. I can get the maya render to work but mental ray option is seperate from that and I get this message. I have set the obvious setting but there are setting that I cant find. so I think it has to do with setting. I get this message when I batch render.

// Mayatomr: Rendering temporary file: C:/Documents and Settings/Morgan Wykkoff/Desktop/aniamtion/movie.mb //

// Error: Cannot find procedure "miProgress". //

// Mayatomr: Batch render started. See C:/Documents and Settings/Morgan Wykkoff/Desktop/aniamtion/mentalray.log for more information. //

// Mayatomr: Batch rendered images will be written to C:/Documents and Settings/Morgan Wykkoff/Desktop/aniamtion/images //
animatress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2003, 01:16 AM   #4
Bigfat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia Tech
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Try it through the command promt, that's what I had to do(although Terminal in OS X). I beleive the command is: mayarender_with_mr -file "/path/to/the/file.mb". Renders the image in the default images folder in your project folder.
__________________
---
http://www.bigfatonline.com
Bigfat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2003, 06:01 AM   #5
animatress
Registered User
 
animatress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

come on someone has to be able to help
animatress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2003, 06:33 AM   #6
EagleKing
Lifetime Member
 
EagleKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 976
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I am not sure but // Error: Cannot find procedure "miProgress". //
could be because there are not all scripts in the scripts folder. maybe try to reinstall mental ray.

If you use maya 5 (mental ray included) then I can't help you.
EagleKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2003, 02:46 PM   #7
animatress
Registered User
 
animatress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

k yes I am using maya 5
animatress is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.