Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-06-2003, 08:13 PM   #1
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default how to disable skin

i have this very annoying problem that my character is so slow when i smooth bind the skin that it is not even funny. when i only manipulte the skeleton w/o skin it works in realtime. is there a way to disable skin calculation while i only animate and dont care to see the skin move? i tried to export the skin weights, unbind the skin - and rebind the skin and import skin weights - but that did not want to work correctly. disabling the skeleton deformer from the inputs to the character did not work either - it was still too slow for interactive placement of the bones - infact it did not seam to have any gain in performance.
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2003, 08:28 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I usually delete everything's history before binding, to make sure nothing else is being caluculated, except maybe necessary things like Blend Shapes.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2003, 10:53 PM   #3
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mtmckinley
I usually delete everything's history before binding, to make sure nothing else is being caluculated, except maybe necessary things like Blend Shapes.
ok, i am out of ideas. i removed everything - only left the shape of the body and the skeleton.

before you bind it - all works fine. after smoothbinding there must be an exponentional slower thing

the feet mover work ok after binding, so does the hand, but really slow. but once you touch the root bone and rotate it - not working very fast.

here is the file to look at (the skin is not bound in it). if someone finds the reason it is so slow after the default smoothbinding, i would like to know as well.

file is in 4.5
Attached Files
File Type: ma skel.ma (336.7 KB, 13 views)
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2003, 11:22 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I'm at work, so can't view your file, but it might just be that it's slow just because... the higher resolution model, the slower it'll be to try to move it with it bound.

For my cartoon Mike model, I never rotated joints with the model visible... too slow.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2003, 11:37 PM   #5
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I just did a smooth bind on your mesh, and everything is running in real-time on my Powerbook. How fast is your machine, and what kind of graphics card are you running?
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2003, 11:41 PM   #6
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

thanks mike for the hint - i got it all fixed. not that the "invisible" helped, i tryed and it did not help at all. but i seen my big big mistake. it was doing fk, when the ik handles were all enabled. i can "rotate" the root now - i just added another ik handle from root to the next spine1.

interesting - i just made the skeleton more complex, and get awarded with real time.
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2003, 11:45 PM   #7
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Originally posted by dannyngan
I just did a smooth bind on your mesh, and everything is running in real-time on my Powerbook. How fast is your machine, and what kind of graphics card are you running?
you can have all in realtime - here it has a fit when i rotate the root joint, not using the mover things on hand and feet.

i smoothbound with complete skeleton, closest joint, max influence 5 and drop off rate 4 - the default.

my machine
a tb 1.3 mhz
512 mb sdram
but only a gf2mx400 - softquadroed

i think i should upgrade my machine - will do that when i come to the us
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.