Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-07-2003, 04:48 AM   #1
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Stiching

I have two polygons. Both have ends that fit flush against each other... Is there a way to stich these together, make them one object, without Boolean it. Take the vertices that I have lining up, and making them one. In short, stiching the two objects....
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2003, 05:35 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

for polygons? Sure, that's easy. Select both objects and Polygons > Combine. Then select the vertices you want to merge and Edit Polygons > Merge Vertices. In the Merge Vertices options, you'll probably need to adjust the distance slider to determine how close the vertices can be to each other in order to merge.

What I usually do is point snap the vertices I want to merge together, then merge them with a very low distance, like .0001.

Hope that works for you.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2003, 06:27 AM   #3
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

But Merge Vertics dosnt make the two vertics one, it just makes them selected as one. How can I make it one?
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2003, 06:30 AM   #4
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Merge Vertices does make them one.
Check your tolerance levels.
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2003, 06:32 AM   #5
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Nope. Found the prob. I had the distance set to 0.000 So they werent working at all. Got em to work now.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2003, 06:33 AM   #6
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Glad to know that.
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.