Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-07-2003, 11:03 AM   #1
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Deleting Vertex?

Anybody know why I can't delete slected vertecies that were made using a poly Extrude Face?

I tried deleting the history, nothing, if i select the vertecies again, it says "nothing slected"

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 11:51 AM   #2
strarup
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Emo,

could you e.g. post a picture of it?

btw. are there any edges connected to the vertice?

I usually can't delete vertices if there are 3 or more edges connected to it, if there are more than 3 edges connected to the vertice I have to delete these edges first... an other problem I sometimes have is if the vertice is on a borderedge (Display --> Polygon components --> border edges)....

sometimes I can't delete the vertices with the delete button, but I have to use the delete vertex function... (Edit polygons --> delete vertex), but it delete both the vertice and all the connected edges... so I usually use the other method since I usually want one of the edges to stay...

I hope this isn't to messy...

regards

Strarup
__________________
------------------------------------------------
Alex V. U. Strarup

One mistake can ruin it all...
strarup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 12:11 PM   #3
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

here you go:

it deletes everything else except the vertecies that were created with Poly's Ectrude Face
Attached Thumbnails
 
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 12:25 PM   #4
strarup
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Emo,

strange... I guess it is in the "red marked" area the problem is... how much of it do you want to keep?

regards

Strarup
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
------------------------------------------------
Alex V. U. Strarup

One mistake can ruin it all...
strarup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 01:02 PM   #5
strarup
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Emo,

why I'm asking is because if you want to keep the square (blue "face") then you can e.g. use the split polygon with the two lower vertices (yellow)... then you should have a whole faced square... and then you can e.g. just delete the rest (purple) e.g. by selecting them as faces...

otherwise it might also be possible to select the "orange" vertice and pointsnap it to the nearest yellow vertice, and then merge it with a value of 0.001, and then delete the "green" vertice...

but I'm just not sure what exactly you want... hope this is not to messy explained...

regards

Strarup
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
------------------------------------------------
Alex V. U. Strarup

One mistake can ruin it all...
strarup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 04:52 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

you could try deleting faces instead.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 07:34 PM   #7
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Are you just selecting the vertices and hitting delete? Did you try using the menu option Edit Poygons > Delete Vertex? If that doesn't work, deleting faces is often more reliable.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 07:57 AM   #8
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mtmckinley
you could try deleting faces instead.
hehe, wow, I feel dumb

Thanks for all the help you guys (especially strarup for trying to help me)

but sorry I didnt make myself clear in the first place, strarup I wanted to get rid of the WHOLE thing and deleting the faces like maike said worked


Originally posted by Dann

Are you just selecting the vertices and hitting delete? Did you try using the menu option Edit Poygons > Delete Vertex?
hehe, don't worry, I know better (thanks for help though)

Also, for anybody to know just in case, DONT ever hit the delete button when you want to delete an edge! It will delete it, but it wont delete the vertecies that wre connected to it!

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 02:23 PM   #9
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Emo
Also, for anybody to know just in case, DONT ever hit the delete button when you want to delete an edge! It will delete it, but it wont delete the vertecies that wre connected to it!

-Emo
Yeah, it's best to use the Edit Polygons > Delete Edge command. It will get rid of the vertices as well.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 06:02 PM   #10
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I have ran into the same problem with trying to delete something like this, but what worked for me was hitting F8 turning the object green the deleting the history then the object.
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.