Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-07-2003, 10:53 PM   #1
Avi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Israel
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default urgent!!! About to buy new machine

Can some1 please write about Maya 5 hardware requirements.
Video Card,Ram, and etc.
Something around a mid budget.
Another question: How can I make the render time shorter. Both in the software level and hardware level....

Many Thanx.
Avi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2003, 11:23 PM   #2
killerBee
Subscriber
 
killerBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ireland\galway
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well i hope i can help you ... shorter render times i here duel CPUs the faster the better
__________________
P4 3.2 ATI 9800xt 256. 1gb ram 19"lcd ..
killerBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2003, 11:42 PM   #3
fredriksson
Subscriber
 
fredriksson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

what you would like, talking wintel here not mac
is probably something like a P4 3ghz, 1gig DDR and either some quadro card or just a radeon 9700 type (if you like to play games too), if that is too expensive, go down some in CPU mhz, but don't sacrifice the memory
__________________
Björn 'santa' Fredriksson

<A href=http://www.bjornfredriksson.com>Site Online.</A>

Check out our 1on1on1 battle for the SandCrawlers.
fredriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2003, 01:37 PM   #4
Avi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Israel
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How about AMD cpu??

Thanx people....

Does AMD cpu are recommened? And about the RAM u bet Im gonna put some 1 Gb in it... About the card... MMM... I dont really know what to choose - As I check in Alias waveront forum people there recommending on radeon 9700PRO ,radeon 9600 - My budget for the card is about 350$ . the radeon 9700pro price is about 330$ here- So i guess I can afford it.
I dont really play games so I dont mind... Whats the reason that Card for 3d animation are not suitable for games???
Avi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2003, 02:00 PM   #5
fredriksson
Subscriber
 
fredriksson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

The thing that differs between 3D animation cards and game cards (except for the ultra high-end, but that is a different story) is mostly the drivers. The Quadro is based on the Geforce and the Fire GL is based on the Radeon, so the hardware is basicly the same, but the drivers are optimized for different uses. Hardware accelerated wireframe, region updates, etc. are used by 3D applications, but games put emphasis on other functions. Since performance loss is quite substantial in games and gain is quite high in 3d applications when switching between cards it seems as you cant have both. Another thing that differs is ofcourse price, companies charge a premium from professional users because they know they can and support is generally better with certified drivers etc.
__________________
Björn 'santa' Fredriksson

<A href=http://www.bjornfredriksson.com>Site Online.</A>

Check out our 1on1on1 battle for the SandCrawlers.
fredriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2003, 02:18 PM   #6
d24e
Subscriber
 
d24e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

don't take radeon 9600.
radeon 9500 pro is better than radeon 9600 pro. I know it sounds weird but it is. 9500 pro has more pixelpipelines or something, wich makes it go faster.

ofcourse 9700 is even better, but expensive.
__________________
<a href="http://www.d2lodshop.com" target="blank">D2lodshop</a>
<a href="http://www.gatcity.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3" target="blank">GAT City</a>
<a href="http://www.rhymbox.com" target="blank">XMPP instant messaging</a>
d24e is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.