Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-07-2003, 09:02 PM   #1
RFairey
Registered User
 
RFairey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Really simple question -> moving components on grid

This is really annoying me now ->

I have a very simple polygon model, looks like a pillar with two flared ends - I want to make the pillar taller by moving the vertices/faces of one end further from the other. I am able to do one of two things, both of which are not what I want:

1) Move one end without grid snapping - vertices end up some uneven distance away.

2) Move vertices with grid snapping - except they all snap to the same plane.

How do I move these things snapped to the grid, keeping their relative positions constant??

I hope to build very simple poly models for use in UT2003, using Maya 4 PLE - if things as basic as this are this painful in MAYA, I may well give up completely.....
RFairey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2003, 10:24 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

If you go into the move tool options, you can check "Keep Spacing" and they won't snap to the same plane, but still snap to the grid.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2003, 10:24 PM   #3
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

If I under stand you question correctly, you just want to move like the top part UP and keep the other half where its at? Just > right click on the object and go to >Vertex> click and drag a selection around the part you want to move> Hit the (W) key which will bring up the move tool and drag in the direction you want to go.
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2003, 10:26 PM   #4
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Oops..too late
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2003, 11:45 PM   #5
RFairey
Registered User
 
RFairey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

@R-Tillery
Yep - this is my problem, doing that just moves it without the grid.

@mtmckinley,
Hmmm - I am using MAYA 4 PLE, which dosn't seem to have that option. I just get a choice between object, world, local and normal.

I can't believe something this basic can be so hard to do....
RFairey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2003, 12:37 AM   #6
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

is your object centerd on the grid? if not do like I said but grab all the vertex and then hold the X key down and snap it to the center and then try it

Last edited by R-Tillery : 25-07-2003 at 12:39 AM.
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2003, 01:26 AM   #7
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Yeah, that option is a 4.5+ thing. Sorry.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2003, 11:54 AM   #8
RFairey
Registered User
 
RFairey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What is the X key supposed to do? It doesn't seem to have any effect.
RFairey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2003, 01:34 PM   #9
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

X is the shortcut key for Snap to Grid.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2003, 01:10 AM   #10
RFairey
Registered User
 
RFairey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ah. So same problem as before.......

Since they are for a game, they really need to be an exact size. Grrrrrr......

Ah well, thanks for your help.
RFairey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2003, 04:30 AM   #11
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

If you are talking about UT2003 you can scale it down in the uneditor as well, so build it to a farly workable size then import it over and work with it in the editor.
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2003, 06:09 PM   #12
RFairey
Registered User
 
RFairey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm not worried about overall size - thats the easy part, UEd has a drawscale attribute for that.

I'm griping about moving parts of the model around to get the shape right. If the whole model is say 16 units wide, and some feature on the object needs to fit with other objects to buil larger structures, it needs to be a specific size in relation to the overall model size - ie have the right proportions. You can't acheive that by dragging things with the mouse and not using a grid-> it might look like 24 units, but it might be 24.073874832 or 23.99034734. I'm so used to UEd - to do what I want in Ued you just select the vertices, right click the one in the selection you want to snap to the grid, and drag them where you want. MAYA seems not to have that feature unless you either have it at work or spend $6000 on a recent version. Neither is an option for me. Its daft that the version they supply with UT2003 (thats how I got PLE) makes things like this so difficult since they are needed so often for precise polygon placement.
RFairey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2003, 06:35 PM   #13
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

It's only $2k for recent versions... Don't know what to tell you. Maya DOES have the capability you want, just not in your version.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2003, 06:51 PM   #14
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Can´t you change your Units in PLE?
And then grid snap those vertexes?
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2003, 07:50 PM   #15
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Your Version has the Ability to do what you want, you just need to know how to do it, If you never been to this site .DigitalTut go here and watch the videos to figure how to do it, It sounds like you need to grab one end and drag it to the next grid by the vertex (I’m not sure) but take some time and IT will come to you, Im in 2 Mods and doing the same thing and Imported a lot of models using the same advice, Maya is the beat tool out there (For Me anyway) I just had to take some time to learn it. But Look at the videos or download the tutorials on this site,,which will really help you out
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.