Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-07-2003, 02:05 PM   #1
SuperDave71
Registered User
 
SuperDave71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Polygons Question (Extrude option)

Hello all!! I have been working in MAYA for a while now but I have run across a few strange things that I can't explain.


When I create a polygon cylinder with 40 subdivisions in perspective view and rotate the X at 90 degrees and have 4 header subdivisions then right click and select faces (to select the faces on the cap to extrude), I choose to keep the faces together, which it does, but AFTER the extrusion, the cap extrusion looks BLOCKY. Does any one have any idea what I am referring to?

If not, I will post some pics later today.


I asked Mike McKinley last night and he had me harden my edges under Edit Polygons > Normals > Soften/Harden Edges (I think that is the option) and it dd help a bit but I would like to know what it could possibly be caused by. Any ideas?


-SuperDave71
Attached Images
 
__________________
"Yeah I want my Cheezy Poofs!"
SuperDave71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2003, 02:23 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

yeah post some pics so we can see exactly what you mean

ALan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2003, 03:01 PM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

It's not something that is wrong. The Soften/Harden Edges command is there for this very reason.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2003, 04:32 PM   #4
SuperDave71
Registered User
 
SuperDave71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 147
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking

OK Mike...



I really appreciate your help. Thank you as always my friend....


-SuperDave71
__________________
"Yeah I want my Cheezy Poofs!"
SuperDave71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extrude Manipulator does not appear Celebrus Technical Issues 11 15-10-2013 09:37 PM
Getting angolare and round polygons together? Red_Roxxor Modeling 19 04-02-2011 03:50 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.