Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-08-2003, 01:42 PM   #1
juice690
Registered User
 
juice690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 94
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy importing into maya 5

I'm trying to import a model thats a .obj file (exported from lightwave 7.5), into maya 5 but it keeps coming up with this message in the script editor:-

pv_performAction "/Users/tt/Desktop/Gerald-versions/g4.obj" "OBJ";
file -import -type "OBJ" -namespace "g4" -options "mo=1" "/Users/tt/Desktop/Gerald-versions/g4.obj";
// Result: /Users/tt/Desktop/Gerald-versions/g4.obj //
// Result: 1 //
playbackOptions -min 1 -max 48 ;
currentTime 2 ;
currentTime 1 ;

:- but theres no sign of the object i'm trying to import?
Does anybody know why it's not working?

If it helps the model was originaly a .lwo file type

Last edited by juice690 : 13-08-2003 at 03:53 PM.
juice690 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2003, 06:48 PM   #2
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Have you tried framing your view (press 'f' or 'a')? Also, check Outliner to see if the shape is listed there. Chances are the scale is out of whack and you just can't see the shape clearly.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2003, 11:38 AM   #3
juice690
Registered User
 
juice690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 94
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the reply, I've tried pressing f and a, no joy though.
Im not sure what to do once i've opened the outliner menu but there doesn't seem to be any sign of the model anywhere...

When I do try to import the model Maya reads the file very quicky and comes up with the above message, so im not sure if theres a problem with .obj file itself.
juice690 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2003, 11:58 AM   #4
juice690
Registered User
 
juice690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 94
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

YaY!! I managed to import the file... in the end I imported using dxf which I had tried before but this time i reduced the size and clicked a few buttons ( not sure which ones ;-) and it worked!

Thanks for the help.
juice690 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Importing Renders to AE Ozgalis Dynamics & Special Effects 1 08-12-2010 09:56 PM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.