Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-08-2003, 08:43 PM   #1
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default moving an entire rigg?

How would i go about moving an entire character already rigged? I know in max it was done quite easily. I could have grouped the leg, arm, and root constraints all together.. and then just move the group? I've tried grouping and also tried parenting everything to a box. Any ideas?

thanks for listening
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2003, 11:38 PM   #2
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

make sure all your foot controls, locators are selected in the hypergraph than group them....


that should do it
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2003, 05:14 AM   #3
strytus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: east coast
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hey thanks.. i figured it out. The problem was like a double transformation. before i was parenting my root, hand, and foot controls... where i only needed to parent the hand and foot. Well i got it working.. thanks though. Now i'm off to facial animation...
strytus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2003, 01:42 PM   #4
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

try selecting all of those items, and parent them to a locator (before you start animating) and then all you have to do is move the locator... just an idea,
Brian
__________________
Please check
My (old) website!
brian_ellebracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2003, 03:46 PM   #5
jsimpson
Registered User
 
jsimpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Depending on the character's complexity, I sometimes create a group including the root and all the IK handles. Depending on how you have the character set up, all should translate and scale by animating this new group.
jsimpson is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.