Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-08-2003, 02:05 PM   #1
Scraggy_Dogg
Subscriber
 
Scraggy_Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester U.K.
Posts: 252
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I have assigned a texture to Initial shader ...how do i get it off?

Hiya,
I suppose it was bound to happen one day, I messed up by applying a texture to my Initial 'Lambert' ... I have searched forums but cannot see how to set it back?
Any ideas
Scraggy
Scraggy_Dogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2003, 02:10 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

select the object, right click on your desired material and choose Assign to Selected.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2003, 02:12 PM   #3
Scraggy_Dogg
Subscriber
 
Scraggy_Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester U.K.
Posts: 252
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thankyou ....

I must remember not to assign textures to initial shaders
I must remember not to assign textures to initial shaders
I must remember not to assign textures to initial sha

Regards Scraggy
Scraggy_Dogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2003, 10:21 PM   #4
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Huh? I don't see how that fixed the problem. If you stick a checker texture on Lambert1, assigning a new material to an object doesn't fix lambert1. All you're doing is sticking another material onto your object. ?????? Am I totally missing something here?

If you create a new sphere, you should be able to see that you fixed nothing because it will have lambert1 assigned to it.

I believe what you need to do is open Hypershade, right-click lambert1, choose graph, select the texture nodes (including the 2 or 3D placement node), and delete them.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2003, 10:27 PM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

ah, I misread what he asked. Yeah, open Lambert1's attributes, right click on the attribute that's been mapped and Break Connection.

I thought he said he'd accidently assigned Lambert1 to an object. :p My bad.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2003, 02:43 AM   #6
Scraggy_Dogg
Subscriber
 
Scraggy_Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester U.K.
Posts: 252
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh no worries .. I worked it out from what Mike said.....
The way I did it was a bit different, but ended up with it as No 1...


But yeah.. was a tad confused at first.... ... Scraggy
Scraggy_Dogg is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.