Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-08-2003, 02:32 PM   #1
3DMONK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default rendering the wire frame?

Hello,

Can anyone help me with rendering the wire frame, or wireframe on shaded mode? I want to render my model with the wire frame on top of the geometry. I also just want to render just the wire frame.

I can't find any function for it in render options, and I don’t want to FCheck then take it to Aftereffects because it would look very low res.

Anyone of you guys out there know how I can do this?

I have considered pulling it into Max, but there must be a way to keep in all in Maya.

Is there an option in the render global were I can turn the wire frame on for a final render?

Thanks ahead

MONK
3DMONK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2003, 02:37 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

You could, as has been mentioned before, take a UV Snapshot of your model and apply that as a transparancy map to your object, so only where the wireframe is will be visible.

There are plugins available from such sites with that kind of functionality also.

Aside from that, the only other thing in Maya's default ability that I can think of is a playblast.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2003, 02:41 PM   #3
3DMONK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

""You could, as has been mentioned before, take a UV Snapshot of your model and apply that as a transparancy map to your object, so only where the wireframe is will be visible. ""

very cool Mike!! thanks
3DMONK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2003, 02:46 PM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

lol if this question gets asked one more time I think I may shoot myself in the head! there's a search button.....there's a sticky thread that tells you to use it...... please use it....

Welcome to SM by the way

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2003, 03:06 PM   #5
[icarus_uk]
Registered User
 
[icarus_uk]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Too near the sun
Posts: 501
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You could of course just use vector rendering. It comes with 5.0, just turn the pluggin on and choose vector rendering from the globals. Theres an option to turn on wire frame rendering as well as the thickness of the lines and colour etc. You need a fairly neat model though because you always get it in triangles, so a very busy model might look a bit cluttered.
__________________
[icarus_uk] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2003, 03:14 PM   #6
3DMONK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks guys. sorry i will use search inthe future
3DMONK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2003, 03:56 PM   #7
3DMONK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oh here i found another way..

all you have to do is open the Hardware Render Buffer, set it to render in wireframe mode (Render > Attributes)

MONK
3DMONK is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.