Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-09-2003, 08:18 AM   #1
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Displacement

I can't figure out how to do displacement in Maya. I've got everything set up with a displacement map attached to the shader in the Displacement Mat. I've tried using Feature Displacement, and I've tried tesselating my object to make lots of polys to displace. Nothing seems to work. Is there a way to set the strength of the displacment like you would set Bump depth for a bump map? All I can find is the Displacement vlaue, but you can't put a number in there as it's driven by the grayscale map.

HELP! What's wrong here?
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2003, 01:17 PM   #2
dragonfx
Registered User
 
dragonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

f1 quote
The displacement height is the alpha value of the texture map by default. If you turn on Alpha is Luminance for the texture, the displacement height results are based on the intensity of the pixels in the texture map.
endquote...

then you can tweak it with the contrast controls on the texture/file node.

if it doesnt gets the shape of the pic youre using slowly up the samples of the texture (the more samples the more polys)
dragonfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2003, 09:14 PM   #3
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Thans for the quote, but I read that that and if you read my post you would know that that wasn't the info I needed.

A displacement map with pure white and pure back will only displace so much, what if I want it to displave more. There must be a value somewhere similar to Bump depth to do this.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2003, 09:56 PM   #4
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

dan, '

I have been working with this indepth for the last week or two on my truck... I have to say that what dragonFx has said is indeed the answer to you question... all you have to do is increasse the value past one, lets say, 3-4 you can still increase it above one eventhough 1 is pure white. Know what I mean? Try it out, it worked for me,
Brian
__________________
Please check
My (old) website!
brian_ellebracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2003, 10:16 PM   #5
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I figured he was talking about the Color Offset and COlor Gain controls. Are you guys referring to the contrast Utility? I've never used it, and the F1 docs may tell you what the values do, but not how to set it up. All it says is

"Map the colors you want to the Contrast utility." which may as well say "Verbally tell the computer to use the Contrast utility" and would be just as good advice.

Sorry, frustrated today. Does anyone know how to set this up?
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2003, 11:18 PM   #6
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

This is my file with the object that will not displace. You can see I tried adding the contrast utility, but it doesn't seem to be helping. I'm likely using it wrong.

Thanks,
-dann
Attached Files
File Type: zip disp.zip (60.6 KB, 15 views)
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 01:52 AM   #7
dragonfx
Registered User
 
dragonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

took the file placed it on a new lambert, saw it was wrong modified samples(you can still higer them more so it will be smoother) and auto resized bounding box just in case... frist response still aplies as part of the "integral displacement control and troubleshoot"

man of little faith...
Attached Files
File Type: zip dann displace modified.zip (85.1 KB, 15 views)
dragonfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 02:08 AM   #8
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Hmmm. I cannot open your file. Script Errors. I'm in Maya v4.5, are you in Maya v5? Maybe you can tell me what you did? What did you set the sample rates to. I've truied making them higher, but still no displacement.

"integral displacement control and troubleshoot" - what does this mean?

Thank you for your help. I am very appreciative.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 02:32 AM   #9
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I got it!

I had to up the Extra Smaple Rate to about 100, and then add a multiply utility to increase the displacement.

Thanks for the help.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 10:57 AM   #10
dragonfx
Registered User
 
dragonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

good morning...glad you made it... but 100 is a lil bit higher... doesnt it takes a lot of time?, maybe you should lower the texture threshold and that will allow you to lower the samples making it faster?

"integral displacement control and troubleshoot" its just a fancy term for "the list of thingies to change prameters so the damn displacement works and looks ok"
dragonfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2003, 11:01 AM   #11
dragonfx
Registered User
 
dragonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

http://www.drone.org/tutorials/displacement_maps.html

this tutorial i wanna take one of these days, maybe youre interested?
and this other too
http://www.drone.org/tutorials/normal_maps.html

Last edited by dragonfx : 14-09-2003 at 12:06 PM.
dragonfx is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.