Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-09-2003, 11:31 AM   #1
DukerX
Subscriber
 
DukerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sandnes, Norway
Posts: 99
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Angry Aaaargh!

I've been working on an underwather-scene for like... 12 hours, and then MAYA just froze!
Guess who didn't think about hitting "Save" every once in a while... ME!
Wich MAYA had an AutoSave function like in Word....
__________________
-DX-
DukerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2003, 02:36 PM   #2
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

it doesent have auto save but you can do incrimental saving. Unfortunetly got to get use to the ctrl s feature. This has happened to me to.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2003, 02:38 PM   #3
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah, I use incimental saves and it helps a LOT!!

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2003, 06:59 PM   #4
DukerX
Subscriber
 
DukerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sandnes, Norway
Posts: 99
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Incremental saves???

You meanyou just save the files with different filenames everytimeyou save the scene, or do you use some automation that gives it a new name/number each time you hit ctrl+s ?
__________________
-DX-
DukerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 10:43 AM   #5
THX1138
14 Year Veteran
 
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Default

That happened to me on a space ship model I was making, and a rather large and complicated one at that. Then all the sudden Maya froze on me, I lost everything. I wish I could have been smart enough to have saved file earlier. Hey, doesn't deleting work history prevent maya from freezing up on large and complex projects?
THX1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 01:23 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

This happens to everyone at least once.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 02:07 PM   #7
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: Incremental saves???

Originally posted by DukerX
You meanyou just save the files with different filenames everytimeyou save the scene, or do you use some automation that gives it a new name/number each time you hit ctrl+s ?
Go to Select File > Save Scene (option box). Tick the box that says "incremental saves" and drag the slider to specify how many saves you want. It's not an auto-save feature but will create a new file everytime you manually save your scene, putting it in a separate folder called "incremental saves." It's helpful when you need to go back to an earlier point and start again.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 09:59 PM   #8
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

The best thing about Maya 4.0 was that it had a crash save feature. If it crashed, it always saved the file in a temp directory under a weird file name like 32432432243243243.ma. What happened to that feature in 4.5 and 5.0?

Oh, and that incremental save feature... It doesn't save for you, which is what was the original problem to begin with. You still have to manually press Ctrl + S to save every once in a while. All that does is save your scene to a new scene file each time you save it. Good for some, but could be heavy for others. Imagine 20 to 30 files each weighing in at about 10MB. Woooo! Could get costly. :p

__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu

Last edited by dave_baer : 02-10-2003 at 10:02 PM.
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 10:34 PM   #9
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

It still does it. It depends on the severity of the crash. If Maya's able to detect the crash, it has a chance to save it. If it just bomb's outright, then the opportunity doesn't arise.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 02:21 PM   #10
iron_tick
Subscriber
 
iron_tick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicagoland USA
Posts: 719
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mtmckinley
It still does it. It depends on the severity of the crash. If Maya's able to detect the crash, it has a chance to save it. If it just bomb's outright, then the opportunity doesn't arise.
...And let me tell you, I havent had maya 5 catch 1 crash yet....
__________________
<html><font size=2>
<font color="blue">
And after calming me down with some orange slices and some fetal spooning,
E.T. revealed to me his singular purpose.

--TOOL, 10,000 Days---

</font></pre>
</html>
iron_tick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 03:01 PM   #11
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I think Maya 5 has only crashed at all for me once so far at work... 4.5 at home crashes every now and then, sometimes catching it, sometimes not.

Best thing to do is the ol' Ctrl + S.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 04:20 PM   #12
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Oddly enough, I've never had Maya crash on me while working (knock on wood). For me, it crashes sometimes on startup if I have other apps open (like a video playing or something else working the CPU).
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 04:30 PM   #13
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes Maya never crashed on my machine either W2k. Touch wood.
__________________
grrrr
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 09:44 PM   #14
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Wierd thing for me is, whenever I use FCHECK it locks up my puter, then I gotta reboot. Any ideas why?
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 10:30 PM   #15
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Should not do that. Your Fcheck is FUC*ED up :-) Why don't u reinstall?
__________________
grrrr
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.