Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-10-2003, 02:19 PM   #1
Tork
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 2 questions with pictures.

Hi Im having just two problems.

The first problem is whenever i try to change something on my model for example if i try to combine or i change the material the model goes from this to that. Why does that happen ? and how can i make it stop doing that.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Tork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 02:21 PM   #2
Tork
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The 2nd one is when i duplicate a leg and lets say i try to select a face on one of them , when i select the face it also selects the face of the other leg. why does this happen ? and how can i stop it from doing this. Thanks for your help
Attached Thumbnails
 
Tork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 02:28 PM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I don't use SubDs much, so i can only guess about your first one, but it looks like you are assigning a material to your low-poly cage... the blue shell around the high-res mesh, instead of your actual model.

as for your 2nd, in your duplicate options, you do not want to have Instance checked.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 02:38 PM   #4
Tork
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the quick reply
Tork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 05:10 PM   #5
iron_tick
Subscriber
 
iron_tick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicagoland USA
Posts: 719
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Your assigning texture to the controller not the sub D

If you drag a selection box around faces you will select everything in that area regardless of how far they are apart. to prevent this try adjusting your view plane and carefully marque select the needed areas OR just individually selct the faces you want one by one.
__________________
<html><font size=2>
<font color="blue">
And after calming me down with some orange slices and some fetal spooning,
E.T. revealed to me his singular purpose.

--TOOL, 10,000 Days---

</font></pre>
</html>
iron_tick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2003, 05:13 PM   #6
iron_tick
Subscriber
 
iron_tick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicagoland USA
Posts: 719
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ops sorry mike. didnt see you posted that already.... :p
__________________
<html><font size=2>
<font color="blue">
And after calming me down with some orange slices and some fetal spooning,
E.T. revealed to me his singular purpose.

--TOOL, 10,000 Days---

</font></pre>
</html>
iron_tick is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.