Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-10-2003, 07:44 PM   #1
orgeeizm
Registered User
 
orgeeizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: union city, ca
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default I think its time I downgrade to 4.5

Well guys..Maya 5 is being a bitch..And I think its time for me spend a day doing this reinstallation authorizing bullshit again to get 4.5 on my computer..

I mean what can i lose right? Mental Ray? So what?

Bahh..Who here uses 4.5 still? Or 4.0 even? or 3.0???
__________________
<a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16675">May/June 2005 Challenge Entry</a>
orgeeizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2003, 10:32 PM   #2
RickStefani
Registered User
 
RickStefani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 658
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I hear 4.5 is just as buggy. When I was using 4.0 it ran clean. The renders did not look as good before mental ray. If it is a finished product you are going after might want to keap at it a little longer with 5.0. Dropping back to 4.0 has been in my head for a while but I am to stuburn.
RickStefani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 03:58 AM   #3
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

4.5 has mental ray. well.. u gotta install it.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2003, 01:56 AM   #4
Nailed
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is there a way to get Mental Ray working with Maya 4?
Nailed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2003, 02:28 AM   #5
Witchy
Subscriber
 
Witchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Not sure, I have 4 still (how old fashioned!) and would be interested in knowing if it does myself.
Witchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2003, 04:13 AM   #6
orgeeizm
Registered User
 
orgeeizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: union city, ca
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

How much is the upgrade from 4 to 4.5? Is it the same as 4.5 to 5?
__________________
<a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16675">May/June 2005 Challenge Entry</a>
orgeeizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2003, 07:31 PM   #7
Witchy
Subscriber
 
Witchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No idea. Mine works fine for me. If one could have Mental Ray that would be a nice bonus though. But I doubt it.
Witchy is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.