Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-10-2003, 01:09 AM   #1
howardporter
Subscriber
 
howardporter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 985
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Frames per second question

I realize that video uses 30 fps, how do I go about changing to that in maya (i believe the default is 25)

also will my animation be retimed if it was created at 25 and i up it to 30? or will everything move a bit faster?

or is this something I shouldnt worry about at all?

Is 25 fps an ok speed?

sorry for so many questions
howardporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2003, 02:46 AM   #2
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Hi Howard. If you go to Settings/Preferences > Preferences > Settings, you can change your time prefs to what you need. 25fps is the european standard for video (PAL) whereas 30fps (NTSC) is American. 24 is film quality. By itself, it shouldn't really matter which you use but if you plan on syncing the animation up later with audio or compositing with video or film, then I'd suggest sticking with the format you're going to work with.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2003, 03:29 AM   #3
howardporter
Subscriber
 
howardporter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 985
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

cool! - thanx for clearing that up for me. :thumbsup:
howardporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2003, 06:24 PM   #4
patrickm
Registered User
 
patrickm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Also of importance is the "keep keys at current frames" option box. If you check this and then reset your FPS your keys will remain where you put them ie: a key at frame 20 will stay at frame 20. If it is unchecked the keys will scale according to your new FPS settings so the keys will move to different frames. You may wind up with keys on half frames and quarter frames as well which is a pain, so if you choose to go this route you should pop all your keys back to the nearest whole frame.

Cheers,

Pat
patrickm is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.