Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-11-2003, 07:13 PM   #1
worldofmaya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Graz / Austria
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ATI X1 crashes Maya

Hi all!
Does anyone of you use an AT FireGL X1 card with Maya? Selecting or any work in the viewboard is just hell and the renderview crashes Maya...
any suggestions???
thanks in advance!
__________________
Klaus Stangl
inferno*&Maya
www.worldofmaya.com
worldofmaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2003, 08:02 PM   #2
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Hrmmm... I had a renderview crash bug as well for a while. Reinstalled Maya and kept the default settings and it works fine now.

Sounds like a driver issue to me. Make sure you have the latest drivers, and it would hurt to try reinstalling Maya so that Maya is installed into the video environment and not the other way around. Other than that, check on the ATI site for any issues realting to that card. They always have something posted there regarding conflicts. But from what I've read and heard, the FIRE GLX1 should be a superb card to use with Maya.

Mmm. Come to think of it, you might want to give us some insight as to the rest of your system. RAM, CPU, etc. Maybe its not the card? Hrmmmm.


__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2003, 08:43 PM   #3
worldofmaya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Graz / Austria
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The rest of the system is an P4 with 800 MHz FSB, 3 GHz, Hyperthreading...
1 GB, SCSI,... Win2k, also tested WinXP
Tried another card with no problem.... I'll try to reinstall Maya....
-klaus
__________________
Klaus Stangl
inferno*&Maya
www.worldofmaya.com
worldofmaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.