Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-11-2003, 01:16 PM   #1
bastiaanwormgoor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Holland
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default shadow render problem

hi,
i seem to have an ought problem... or is it just 'cause i'm a damn noob! Whatever I do I can't render any shadow... it doesn't matter how many light I use, maya just doesn't render my shadow.. I searched on the forums here, but none of you seem to have the same problem. I know it has to be deadeasy, 'cause I haven't had any problems with that before.. please help me
__________________
------------------------------------------------
...addict...but luckely for me it's Maya!
------------------------------------------------
bastiaanwormgoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 01:55 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

have you turned on "cat shadows"? you have to explicity tell your lights to cast shadows. It's under the shadows section of the light's attributes.



Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 02:09 PM   #3
bastiaanwormgoor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Holland
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the shadow. the shadow!! it's the most beautiful thing I've ever seen!
thanx dude
__________________
------------------------------------------------
...addict...but luckely for me it's Maya!
------------------------------------------------
bastiaanwormgoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 02:15 PM   #4
iron_tick
Subscriber
 
iron_tick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicagoland USA
Posts: 719
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hahaha that was funny. no disrespect intended, but it was like someone just saw a large pile of gold.
__________________
<html><font size=2>
<font color="blue">
And after calming me down with some orange slices and some fetal spooning,
E.T. revealed to me his singular purpose.

--TOOL, 10,000 Days---

</font></pre>
</html>
iron_tick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.