Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-11-2003, 12:11 AM   #1
dberry
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Lightwave Stencil Equvilent in Maya

So some of you may know about the lightwave stencil too. As far as i can tell it's like the "project curve on Surface" command for polys but its got a catch. The area inside the curve becomes a new poly object. I'd really like this funtunality in maya but i can't figure out how to do it. I'd like to be able to draw a curve and project it on a poly surface and have the two new surfaces.

Now if i've been unclear i'll give a small example. Say i have a poly plane and i draw a circle over it. I want to stencil the circle into the plane so that the the is a circle on the plane yet it and the plane are two different objects. Some of you may have seen this effect in some converted Lightwave models. I've found it's good for modeled detail like little marks that need to be flush with the surface yet a different color. Hence why it needs to be seperate objects. If anyone can help me out or point me to a plugin somewhere i'd be very gratefull.

Thanks,
Dberry
dberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2003, 01:31 AM   #2
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

The tool you're looking for is called make hole. However, you cannot use a curve as your stencil, you have to turn your curve into a surface first (try using the Planar tool).

I havn't used it, but I've seen it done by a lightwave guy who was learning Maya.

Hope this helps.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2003, 05:52 AM   #3
dberry
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Um i'm not quite sure how you are thinking about implmenting that. I can extrude the curve and have that surface intersect the plane but how can i get it to work. Also make hole seems like the wrong tool. I'm not trying to delete part of the plane i'm trying to make it a different object that's still flush with the plane. Any lightwave converts out there that have over come this limitation? This is probably the one thing i'll say lightwave has a leg up on maya with. It's an extremly usefull tool. So any other ideas folks?
dberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2003, 02:36 PM   #4
iron_tick
Subscriber
 
iron_tick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicagoland USA
Posts: 719
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

can you elaborate on the scene a bit more? maybe you should make 2 nurbs surfaces and align them.
__________________
<html><font size=2>
<font color="blue">
And after calming me down with some orange slices and some fetal spooning,
E.T. revealed to me his singular purpose.

--TOOL, 10,000 Days---

</font></pre>
</html>
iron_tick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2003, 04:12 PM   #5
dberry
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm not sure how to describe it best. Anyone familiar with the stencil tool would know what i'm talking about. I can though show a result of this tool in action. The pic below is from a converted lightwave model. Notice how the surface and the red marking are flush even over the little edge. Now in the second pic notice how i can select the red marking. It is it's own object. Also, when i move the marking up there seems to be a hole left in the first surface. That's what the stencil tool does it turns a certain defined area either by projected curve or interscted surface into a seperate object that still remains flush with it's parent. I hope this clears up what I'm trying to do. Again thanks for the help.
Attached Thumbnails
 
dberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2003, 05:02 AM   #6
dberry
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Maybe i wasn't too clear in my last post. This is the what i want to acheive but can't. does anyone know how this can be done in maya?
dberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-02-2004, 01:15 AM   #7
orgeeizm
Registered User
 
orgeeizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: union city, ca
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i know what youre trying to say. i dont know any equivalent tool like that for maya. hmm its been awhile since this post was made, have you found a solution?
__________________
<a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16675">May/June 2005 Challenge Entry</a>
orgeeizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-02-2004, 07:19 PM   #8
dberry
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So far nothing working quite as an equivilaent. I've talked to LW and other maya users and the stencil tool, while nice for putting on decals and such, actully end up making the mesh not as poly eficent as it can be. The closest thing i've found is boolean operations for cuts i nees to make and for andything like windows or grid lines i can use displacment mapping.
dberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-02-2004, 08:28 PM   #9
orgeeizm
Registered User
 
orgeeizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: union city, ca
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

yeah. i mean i can do it with boolean but i have to do alot of things to prepare the mesh such as delete history and what not, and its not as efficient. i mean it is possible..but i want to do it straight right off the bat without having to delete history or duplicate the mesh just in case the boolean doesnt work or whatever. ahh maya... thats what we pay for such a powerful program.
__________________
<a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16675">May/June 2005 Challenge Entry</a>
orgeeizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2004, 05:06 PM   #10
strobe7
Registered User
 
strobe7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 311
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

why would you be worried if something that is flush has 3-dimensional depth? Wouldn't a map work since it is basically just a plane of faces anyways?
__________________
Lungs not guns....
strobe7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2004, 08:44 PM   #11
dberry
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

maps do work but they need to be a pretty decent resolution to look good especially for close up shots. This stencil decaling TW users do is kinda a way to cheat having to apply a map.
dberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.