Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-11-2003, 04:31 AM   #1
Lanimilbus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Dragon tutorial question

Hello all!

I am tring to set up an image plane like that in the first dragon head tutorial. I've done it over and over but can't get the image. When I middle mouse click and drag it on the plane, it confirmes it below....."result: dropped lambert1 onto pPlane1" but all I get is the plain grey plane.

I am using the Maya 5.0 PLE. I'm kinda thinking that may be the reason for the zilch, but don't really know for sure.

Any help would be greatly received, Thank you!
Lanimilbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2003, 04:46 AM   #2
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Remember to turn on hardware texturing.
(On the window menu)
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2003, 05:03 AM   #3
Lanimilbus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks...tryed turning on the hardware...but to no avail. I am following the tutorial to the tee...I just don't understand why I'm not getting anything.
Lanimilbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2003, 05:26 AM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

press 6 key to turn on hardware texturing. Also, it's good practice to get in the habit of not manipulating Lambert1. I would highly recomend leaving Lambert1 at its default and creating a new material to use for textures.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2003, 05:54 AM   #5
Lanimilbus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you to both adldesigner and Michael! That did the trick! I'm brand spankin to the modelin scene and very eager to get myself educated.

Again, thank you for the rapid response.

Steve

P.S. Kudos and congrats to you, Mike, for creating a goal for yourself and attaining a dream job!
Lanimilbus is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.