Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-11-2003, 07:26 PM   #1
lesia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help! Rigid body resetting back to origin..alllways??

Hey
I posted on another forum but everybody seems to be sleeping and since this site is the nicest looking site I figure this is where i'm going to get my answer:

I'm fairly new to maya 5.0,
when creating a _really_ simple polygon cube and moving it away from the origin (0,0,0) .... every time i try to make it either an active or passive rigid body it resets back to the origin (and since you can't change it once it's set...) ....this happens EVEN if i set x y z values for Initial Position. Please this is driving me crazy, what did I do wrong? I know it wasn't _always_ doing this.

Thanks so much,
- Lesia
lesia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2003, 07:35 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

maybe set a key at the position and then turn it into a rigid body? but I'm not sure that will work. IU just had a go and it didnt do it to me.... make sure that set initial position is off is all i can suggest.

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2003, 08:07 PM   #3
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I would sujest falowing one of the dynamic's walkthroughs that is in the help files with maya. If the help is anything like it is in 4.5 thin it has a lesson about rigged bodys.. probably in the instant maya stuff. If things don't work right buy falowing that thin it could be a bigger problem than some simple setting is off.. which is often a problem for me, giving the complexity of maya.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2003, 08:22 PM   #4
lesia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah the keyframing works, however i didnt want to have to do that because i'd like the project to be a competely keyframeless animation.but i'm sure one keyframe on frame 1 will be okay

Regarding one setting being off, that's what i think it is. I must have done/clicked something and now it's always resetting....I know this because when I did go back and do the mayabasics tutorial on rigid bodies , it didnt work how it is supposed to (and how it did the first time I ran the tutorial a month ago...it reset half of the planks back to the origin!

So now I try figure out what setting it is that causes this.

Thanks for the replies so far !

- lesia
lesia is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.