Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-12-2003, 09:24 PM   #1
neoarcadia
Registered User
 
neoarcadia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default RAID 1 on an existing volume?

I know this isnt a tech support for RAID, but I'm bored and messing with a computer. I have 2 80 gig hard drives, and a motherboard that supports RAID. If i already have a volume setup on one of the hard drives, do I need to blow it out and start over to use Raid 1 or is there a way to have it copy everything from the existing drive to the new one on its own?

I didn't think i should post it in the tech support section, because it wasn't Maya related.. But correct me if I was wrong

Just figured someone in here has to be RAID savvy enough to answer that question. As for as i know you have to start from scratch, but I know very little about RAID (First time using it). The only problem is it will be a pain in the butt to backup that drive, but not impossible, just trying to think of easier ways.. Anyway, again, only curious. I tweek stuff and do weird things when bored. :bgreen:
__________________
eat the corn--
neoarcadia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 08:44 PM   #2
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Well i think the first question to ask yourself is why do you need to have a RAID setup? You only have two drives. It's not going to improve your speed if that's what you're trying to accomplish. Fo that, you'll need SCSI drives. A RAID ( Redundant Array of Independent Drives) is basically for file storage with lots of drives connected.

but considering I probably know as much about RAIDs as you do, I coul dbe wrong. But from what I do know, that's just about right.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 12:10 AM   #3
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

RAID 1 isnt for making it go faster its for backing up all of your files automaticaly.

How ever if what you ARE trying to do is make it write 1/2 file on one, an 1/2 on another, making it go twice as fast, then thats RAID 0.

Either way, you have to clear them and start a new array to do it.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 12:48 AM   #4
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

and don't they need to be on a RAID controler ? I meen the IDE contections will not work will they ?
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 03:19 AM   #5
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: RAID 1 on an existing volume?

Originally posted by neoarcadia
and a motherboard that supports RAID.
I take that as he has built in RAID. If you dont have it built in, jstu one that supports the card, then you need the card. Unless you do software RAID, but that is a bad idea!
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.