Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-12-2003, 02:12 PM   #1
drizzt
Registered User
 
drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Edges

Hey guys,
just wondering if you can duplicate edges on objects?
thanks
drizzt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2003, 02:37 PM   #2
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

umm could you tell use a bit more about what your trying to do ? becouse you can duplicate the object, and that in tern duplicates the edges.. (shruges)
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 01:46 AM   #3
drizzt
Registered User
 
drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

what im trying to do right is duplicate an edge on the surface of an object then move it across a little without having to use the split poly tool.
hope that explains it a bit better
drizzt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 02:51 AM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

best way I know to add an edge is split poly tool. So, fraid I can't help you there.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 02:58 AM   #5
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

If your just trying to make a harder edge some where on your model. Like a crease in it thin what mike said is the way to go.

If you the outside edge of a poly object that your trying to get out farther..
well you could use the extrude edge. that will make another edge and you can pull it to where you want.. poly faces will come in-between. since you can't have just a edge with out a poly . this would be the way to go..

I think I'm understanding what your after now. Thanks for clearing that up.. I think one of the 2 responses will help.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 05:54 AM   #6
drizzt
Registered User
 
drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks guys
drizzt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
jerry can ctbram Work In Progress 29 26-11-2010 03:51 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.