Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-12-2003, 09:09 PM   #1
Psichosix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Render help

The models that are in the gallery...for example the Akira Clown. What kind of render was used, I guess I dont know the question to ask but how do you render something to look like that. I like that look of the greyscale of the model.
Psichosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 09:23 PM   #2
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Hi there done with eather global Illumination or FinalGather. In Maya's software render you can fake GI with a mel script called GI_Joe. It makes a lot of lights in a dome set up.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 02:47 PM   #3
Psichosix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the help. Are there any special settings that one would need to use?
Psichosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 08:30 PM   #4
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

no. use the defalt that comes with it. for the most part. I would not use more than 64 top lights and no more than 16 underneath.. I delit the ground lights my self. There really isn't much quality difrence between 64 and 256 lights on the dome and you take so much time penalty for it.

Change the intinity on the sky lights just a little. befor the first render. I don't know if anyone has the same probem.. but the light seem to need to be set at first or they miscouculat and are to bright.. If you don't change them buy like .01 the first time thin it renders really bright and your like oh need to tern it down. so you do and thin you get one that is really dark. it can be confusing. So after doing that right off you shoudl be able to tune it right up.

about tuneing. for any tuning on a render I would put in a couple of simple poly sphears with your shaders on them. or low res textures. and keep the shadows terned down on the res. use the dmap shadows..

use dmap shadows, raytraced shadows will be a nightmare with that many lights..

just some pointers of top of my head.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2003, 01:42 AM   #5
Psichosix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have been trying to use this script but cannot get it to work. I have changed the location of my file but when I run the script nothing happens? Is there anything else I need to change
Psichosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.