Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-12-2003, 08:49 PM   #1
daveatpressac
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default rotational node problem

Hi

After rigging my character, I went to rotate the shoulder joint down to put the arm by the characters side and noticed that the visual rotation node wasn’t rotating as usual. I rotated the arm down in the Y (green) direction but the Z (blue) didn’t move with it as it should. It just stays static as you can see from the picture included. The problem is that I need to be able to swing the arm as he walks and so will need the Z rotation to do this when the arm is by his side. How do I rectify this problem and get my rotation nodes working correctly?
Any help would be greatly appreciated as I have spent absolutely ages rigging this character and I don’t want to have to start all over again if possible
Thanks in advance for any advise and help

Dave
Attached Thumbnails
 
daveatpressac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2003, 09:20 AM   #2
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Looks like you have your rotate tool set to gimbal mode. You can set it back to local (or global, if you want that) using either of the following methods:

1. Press and hold 'e' and left-click-hold to bring up the Rotate Tool marking menu. Select Local or Global.

2. Double-click the Rotate Tool in the Toolbox. Set the rotation mode in the dialog box.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.