Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-01-2004, 10:49 PM   #1
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question displacement won't show from the top

Anyone knows what I did wrong here?

I applied this texture

as a displacement map for a NURBS Plane layed on the floor.
Then when I render the persp camera from a certain angle (say 45 degrees) I get this

And that's ok, it does what I want, but when I move the camera to the top the holes disapear and I get this

The same thing happens if I move to a side view (both front and side), except that because it's a plane it simply renders a blank image. It's not a problem with the orthographic cameras because if I move the persp camera to thos positions I still get the same blanks.
Maybe I was suposed to check a box or change a number or something...
Or maybe I did changed something I shouldn't have... the only settings that I changed from a defaul displacement are:
-for the texture file, under Color Balance, I changed Alpha Gain to -3 (because I wanted the holes to be deeper)
-for the texture file, under Effects, I checked the "invert" box (because after creating the texture I realized that that I ended up moving the wholes instead of the grid :p)
-for the place2d for that texture I changed Repeat UV to 5 (both of them) (because I wanted there to be more whole in that same area)
-for the NURBS Plane, under Tessellation, I changed Curvature tolerance to Highest, U division to 10, and V division to 10.

For all I can tell I didn't do anything that I shouldn't have.

Any ideas to fix this?

Thanks.
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2004, 04:21 PM   #2
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I guess no one has ever since a situation like this.....
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 12:15 PM   #3
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

ok there is a major difference between an orthographic camera and a persp one. An orthographic igrnores the whole idea of perspective which means that things dont appear to get smaller as they dissapear into the distance. So that's why you really shouldnt render from the top camera.

I'm not great on displacements so somebody may be able to help you out with that part but you should always render the displacements from a persp camera.



Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 03:40 PM   #4
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Pure_Morning
ok there is a major difference between an orthographic camera and a persp one. ... you should always render the displacements from a persp camera.



Alan
I know, neither one of the images above are from an orthographic camera. Both renders come from the default persp camera. I only said I "tried" with the orthos and got the same result.
And I still can't figure it out by the way :-/
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 06:42 PM   #5
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Looks to me like a clippng plane issue. Try extending your camera's "Far Clip Plane".
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 10:47 PM   #6
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default been there, tried that...

yeah, that is one of the things I thought of, originaly, but no matter how high the number I still have the same problem. I tried with such big numbers that now I'm wondering, how can that thing go anyway? :p I know I tried with at least 7 digits.

thanks anyway, but I guess I can't do anything about it , oh well....
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 11:01 PM   #7
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

maybe if you upload your mb file, we can take a look. I don't like problems going unsolved around here really. I can do Maya 4.5 Unlimited files and below. No 5.0 files, sorry.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 02:06 AM   #8
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default update

funny thing.... when I render with Mental Ray not only I fix the problem, but I even get a smoother grid (which I would prefer).
But then again, this really isn't a solution, because mental ray takes longer to render and for some reason it won't do a batch render from the command prompt. So I still want to find the real solution.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 02:09 AM   #9
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here is the scene file and the image for the displacement. the scene is in maya 4.5


Thanks for looking at it.
Attached Files
File Type: rar test.rar (258.7 KB, 10 views)
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 02:29 AM   #10
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

That's odd. Mental Ray is usually faster than the Maya native renderer.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 02:51 AM   #11
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

really? in my computer Mental Ray is super slow, and it makes my system unstable. For example, while using maya's rederer I can switch to different windows and see the image forming piece by piece, but when I use Mental ray if I dare to switch to a different window I am at risk of loosing control of Maya and having to shut it down the ugly way (good thing I always save before using MR), and the image won't show until it's completely done.
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2004, 06:10 PM   #12
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

I have the same problem with MR too. Whats the deal?
__________________
- Hybrid
I-Iybrid is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.