Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-01-2004, 10:08 AM   #1
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question nVidia GeForce FX5700

I had a problem with my Quadro board this weekend and so am having it repaired/replaced . I expect this will take a few weeks (things happen s-l-o-w-l-y in France).

In the meantime I am thinking of picking up a GeForce FX5700 that I can use as a backup card. Does anyone have any experience with this card and Maya? I will be running dualscreen, so if you have any experience with that please let me know.

Thanks all!
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 05:54 PM   #2
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

I just got the "ultra" version of this card, and it seems fine.

Not sure about the "non-ultra".

There are a few VERY small issues with redraw of the viewports when you "maximize" the viewport.
(workaround: just deselect, then reselect anything)

I made a small mel that does this for me so it is no longer a hassle for me.

Other than that, it ROCKS

Pretty cheap too, as I picked mine up from newegg.com "Saturday night" for $123.00.

However that sale is over now, and it is back to $191.00
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 09:17 AM   #3
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I picked up a 256mb version yesterday from a dealer here in Paris. It's by PixelView and has lots of funky "tuning" features such as a bright blue illuminated fan and all that crap.

Anyway, I plugged it in last night and it runs great. Dual-screen no problem at all. It runs about as fast as the Quadro4-980XGL.

I too get the viewport refresh problem; switching from persp to 4-view and back but it seems a quick play with the timeslider fixes it no problem. Another minor pain is if I have Maya open at the same time as QuickTime and drag a Maya window over the QT window, QT crashes.

Still - it's nice to have both monitors up and running again!

I was thinking that I would sell the FX5700 on eBay when the Quadro is repaired, but I like it so much thatI think I'll hang onto it and build my wifes replacement PC around it.
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2004, 08:03 AM   #4
Divideby0
Registered User
 
Divideby0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi,

I've been shopping for a vCard for a new PC and Im trying to pick out one that supports dual-monitors. What characteristic am I looking for that tells me the card in question will support an extended desktop?

For example, Would this work? what would tell me?:

GAINWARD GeForce FX 5600 ULTRA Video Card
Chipset/Core Speed: GeForce FX 5600ULTRA/350MHz
Memory/Effective Speed: 128MB DDR/700MHz
BUS: AGP 1X/2X/4X/8X
Ports: VGA Out(15 Pin D-Sub)+VIVO+DVI connector
Support 3D API: DirectX®9, OpenGL®1.4
Cable/Accessories: VGA via DVI Adapter, VIVO&Power Cables, 3 CD, Manual
Max Resolution@32bit Color: 2048X1536@75Hz
__________________
"Make no little plans. They have no magic to stir men's blood and probably themselves will not be realized."
- Daniel Burnham, Chicago architect. (1864-1912)
Divideby0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2004, 09:47 AM   #5
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Look at the out-ports. A monitor usually uses either a VGA or DVI-D port. So in the case of the FX600, you have a VGA and a DVI connector ... dual monitor support.
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.