Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-01-2004, 02:51 PM   #1
dae
Subscriber
 
dae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 780
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default inside out model

I have just loaded a model and it looks like its inside out, should I turn on something in my prefs, well anyway, any help would be great.

Dae
__________________
"I THINK, THEREFORE I AM"
René Descartes

www.mvorster.co.uk
dae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2004, 02:57 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

It sounds like you have backface culling turned on and the model's normals are reversed.

You'll need reverse the wayward normals to have them facing outward, if this is the case.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2004, 03:11 PM   #3
dae
Subscriber
 
dae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 780
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thats what thought its was, so I turned it off and it has no effect.
Here is an image.
__________________
"I THINK, THEREFORE I AM"
René Descartes

www.mvorster.co.uk
dae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2004, 03:13 PM   #4
dae
Subscriber
 
dae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 780
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

opps!!:p
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
"I THINK, THEREFORE I AM"
René Descartes

www.mvorster.co.uk
dae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2004, 05:12 PM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

That resembles an issue I've had before when dealing with alpha channel transparancy... I think it's just a video card thing. If you open the file and keep it in shaded view instead of hardware texture view, it shouldn't do that, I believe. After going into texture view, though, it "sees" the textures and the transparancy issue comes back, even if you switch to shaded.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2004, 05:19 PM   #6
dae
Subscriber
 
dae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 780
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks
__________________
"I THINK, THEREFORE I AM"
René Descartes

www.mvorster.co.uk
dae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.