Complex UV Layout in Maya
Over the last couple of years UV layout in Maya has changed for the better. In this course we're going to be taking a look at some of those changes as we UV map an entire character
# 1 09-12-2011 , 12:50 AM

Animation Reel

Hi guys,

I would like to show you this short reel of my recent work in Maya, I am studying animation and have been working with Maya for a semester.

I would love to have some expertise critique from you guys, I know its not a fantastic Demo Reel but I am starting and really want to get better

Autodesk Maya Demo Reel - YouTube

Thank you! user added image

# 2 11-12-2011 , 11:59 AM
Administrator
You've made a lot for a semester so well done.

For a showreel though you might want to be a bit more selective, it should contain only your best work and when you're starting out no one expects you to have lots of cool looking stuff, so better to think simple. If you focus on one or two scenes as well you can spend much more time on getting them to look really good, instead of ending up with lots of things that doesn't look as good as you could make it if you spent the extra time.

Also your reel is confusing to me, I don't get what I'm looking at. Is it a generalist or an animation reel? Because if it's an animation reel those model turntables in the beginning shouldn't be there.And unless you did absolutely everything in that reel like rigged and modeled the characters you need a shot breakdown of what you did. If you did the rigging too I'd still add an intro screen where i made it clear that I did everything in this reel from modeling to animation just so it's clear to someone watching.

Cheers,
Nilla

# 3 11-12-2011 , 06:30 PM
Subscriber
sorry, if I seem harsh, I'm gonna critique it as if it were a professional demo..
---