Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 20-12-2010 , 05:26 PM

First Maya Project - Yet another guitar

Hello All! I downloaded the maya's trial version and played around with it for a week now, so this is my first project in this nice software.
I know it's not really original but I wanted to do something not too complicated and go through modelling, texturing and rendering with Mental ray, just to learn the basics of Maya.
I tried to keep the mesh as clean as possible, but sadly no one will ever notice because I couldn't figure out how to render a wireframe user added image
Anyway.. I decided to post it here because it's my first project and I'd like to hear some comments and critics, so I can improve the level of my future projects.
The render with the guitar on the right is meant as a wallpaper image for my pc user added image

tl;dr: first project -> Comments and Crits user added image

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 20-12-2010 , 06:48 PM
SM Tea Boy
Your first project in Maya but you've used a 3D application before I take it?

Dave

From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
# 3 20-12-2010 , 07:17 PM
Oh yes I used blender for a couple of years a couple of years ago. Then I started using it again last month, but I'm disappointed with the internal renderer and it's a mess to set everything for externals (even with the new beta version wich is a lot better then the old ones). I thought I'd give a try at another sw and so far I have to say maya is way more user friendly. I still can't figure out how nodes and the hypershade work, but I'm working on it.

Joni

# 4 20-12-2010 , 07:41 PM
Administrator
Hi Joni,