Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-02-2010, 08:11 AM   #1
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default snapping points

I have watched a few tutorials now and notice the people (NURBS vertices atm) and they appear to be able to pick multiple vertices?? I can do it with the shift key but they seem to pick theirs without doing this, whats the secret? I have tried reflection, etc etc and I have mucked around with my snap tolerance but it didnt work? They arent using hull mode to do it either.

Cheers Bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2010, 10:17 AM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

apart from holding the shift key you can drag a selection if you keep the left mouse button down using a box if on the normal select tool or a lasso if you change to lasso select.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2010, 10:22 AM   #3
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Thanks jsprogg,

I use the 'shift' and a box as well, it happens so quick that I dont see a lassoo tool?? I will watch it a few hundred more times in the meantime,

Thanks again.
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2010, 10:33 AM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

lasso select is directly under the normal select tool (second tool down).
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2010, 10:48 AM   #5
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Yeh got that mate, even set a hotkey for it. The Tutor doesnt use it though, its almost as if he is using hull mode but he isnt.
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2010, 05:50 PM   #6
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,371
Thanks: 74
Thanked 709 Times in 642 Posts
Default

In 2009? and after, if you click a vertex and shift double click on an adjacent vertex, you'll select the whole ring of vertices. There's some variations on that, play around with it. Hope that helps.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2010, 08:58 PM   #7
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

is it soft selection mode?

you can also use the arrow keys to select rings and loops.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2010, 11:44 PM   #8
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

I dont know stwert, Im running 2008 so I may not be able to. I will have to watch the tutorials again, it was from this site, Kurt Boutilier doing a cartoon dog.

I will check that out hammer, thanks.
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2010, 11:53 PM   #9
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

wow, Kurts cartoon dog was in like...Maya....hell, 6.5 or 7 or something, Looooong time ago.

that came out right about the time i joined the boards.
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2010, 12:19 AM   #10
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Jeezzzz, didnt realise that it was that far back!!
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2010, 02:04 AM   #11
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

There arnt that many changes to maya since them, its not that much of an issue really. some menu changes, and they changed " edit polygon, and " " poly" to " mesh and edit mesh" things like that, Most all of the tools that were integrated into Maya since were already out there as addon's from Mj poly tools, or just random mel scripts,some were available in koshagaya.

Basically what i[m saying is that it really doesnt matter the age of the tutorial, the basics from what were done remain the same. Some of the menu's might change and some new tools might get added but beyond that it doesnt really effect anything.

g-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2010, 02:18 AM   #12
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

I know legend, I use Surveying software for field and office, both CAD based and they move stuff around all of the time (gives me the willies!!). Im new to Maya BUT I am damn keen on it, I have trouble a lot as my brain goes into Survey mode which kind of makes it hard. Now Im trying to use Maya moves and shortcuts in Surveyors CAD's without thinking!!! ha ha ha kind of makes work interesting when roads end up in the wrong place etc.

Im just curious how Kurt was clicking on one vertex but 5,6 10 or in a ring (like hull mode) would be highlighted?? I have similar properties in my work software, kinda like point snap with proximity on, if you know what Im trying to say? I have a pretty good understanding of the basic end results of Maya, as I work with terrain/road/pipe sytem models all of the time. Triangulating for terrain models etc. and designing the estates etc off of Construction drawings, Maya is just more interesting and fun, work sux.
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2010, 05:43 AM   #13
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

It almost sounds like the paint selection brush (just under the lasso in the toolbar). That allows you to 'paint' select your components. With the tool activated, you can press b and left mouse drag to change the size of the brush. ctrl + painting will deselect any selections you made.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2010, 05:47 AM   #14
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Thanks Nitro,

I will check it out after work, from memory it was a standard cursor.

Just checked it Nitro in my lunchbreak, no its a standard cursor.

Cheers Bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes

Last edited by bullet1968 : 25-02-2010 at 06:20 AM.
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2010, 06:24 AM   #15
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

ohh i remember the days.
i know exactally what you're talking about
(L space @n24d13'22"s<343.27' enter )
or how about my old favorite ( arc click e click r enter 25' )
Used to be a land surveyor myself, did alot of both office and field work, loved it, the field work i mean, hated the office part of it. was fun though, i designed quite a few subdivisions, i assisted in the design and development and grading of a small airport (one of those back yard airport subdivisions for rich people ya know? ) a few other projects did alot of road designs also.

i'm a bit rusty on my cad though to be honest, its been a good. 3 years since i used it alot ( I did an old stint of work for my boss back last summer, but wasnt alot of stuff to do. )

g-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.