Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 31-10-2003, 04:01 PM   #16
strykernet
Subscriber
 
strykernet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i have 3 objects that i increased tesselation....
1st object has ( U division 6 and V division 6 Highest quality)
2nd object has ( U division 1.5 and V division 1.5 Medium quality)
3rd object has ( U division 6 and V division 6 Highest quality)
Primary Tesselation UV Per Span # of Isoparms = 3 for all 3 objects

I had to increase these to make it smooth...or there is a better way to make it smooth w/o increasing tesselation?
strykernet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2003, 05:04 PM   #17
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

By "shadows" on i mean are you're lights casting shadows?
-Have you checked the render log?
-Have you tried Render -> Render Diagnostics...?
-Have you tried File -> Optimize Scene Size?
-In the docs there are many tips and tricks to increase render speed. You should go through them as well...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2003, 06:40 PM   #18
strykernet
Subscriber
 
strykernet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Woo..i should try and do that KB... which of those above can give you an estimate time of how long it renders before i actually render? thanks..
strykernet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2003, 08:24 PM   #19
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

which of those above can give you an estimate time of how long it renders before i actually render? thanks..
I believe none...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.