Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 03-12-2005, 07:11 PM   #1
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default GI Joe

i downloaded it and changed its setting lik it said an now i have a shortcut for it on my custom shelf.
my problem is how to use it. i understand it fakes global illumination. so what render do i use and what settings. i have tried but i click it and i get two choices
directional and spot light
16 an 64 i think
i chose some but i see no diff in the pic
do i need other lighting?
what am i doing wrong?
also after the box comes up as there is no done button do i close it or leave it open?

thanks in advance
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2005, 08:07 PM   #2
magicsy
Subscriber
 
magicsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

drag the menu box down to make it larger.
ull then see the other options and create!
u dont need other lighting no.
try seaching for some stuff on here discussing it.
magicsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2005, 11:02 PM   #3
mc-fleury
Registered User
 
mc-fleury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 914
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

is that tut a good one. does it show exactly how to model the face and the body or...i dont know
mc-fleury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 02:36 PM   #4
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

mc-fleury -- u have the wrong end of the stick . it is not a tut i am talkin about its the plugin

magicsy -- thanks for ur reply u have solved it i neva noticed them before thanks for ur help

ps is the model gi joe tut ne good? just curious

however now i get this error
// Error: File not found.: e:/vfx/mans/maya/GIJoe.lights //
i hve stepup like said e.g. change line 57 and move to folder name with only 1 word
wat is wrong
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 03:09 PM   #5
magicsy
Subscriber
 
magicsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

make a folder in C: your main drive call it GI_Joe put lights in there n on line 57 point to here. then in your command thing in maya type GI_Joe
remember its capital G cap I cap J
something i didnt realise.
magicsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 03:11 PM   #6
magicsy
Subscriber
 
magicsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

one more thing i dont really rate GI_Joe.
its only good for clay renders. which in my opion..whats the point.
magicsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 03:49 PM   #7
mc-fleury
Registered User
 
mc-fleury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 914
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oops sorry :blush:
mc-fleury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 06:31 PM   #8
lisa_gonzalez
Subscriber
 
lisa_gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Hi there.

I quite like GI Joe. I haven't really delved properly into mental ray/global illumination (I'm not really much of a lighting person), but I did the work in this thread using GI Joe:

http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=16939

I found it quite easy to get the effect I was looking for, and I was pleased with the render considering I didn't go down the now usual Mental Ray route. As well as using the normal GI Joe setup, I played around with the settings, added a few of my own lights and rendered in passes to get more control in the end, so you can do more with it than just pressing the button and rendering away. I think it does have more merit than being just used for 'clay renders'. Using it does make you think about your lighting a bit more, rather than just checking on 'use final gather' in render globals.

You will probaly need to mess around with all of the settings, and do lots of test renders to see what the effects are on your scene.

LisaG
__________________
When in doubt......smile!

http://www.x-menthelaststand.com/
lisa_gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 09:17 PM   #9
mc-fleury
Registered User
 
mc-fleury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 914
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

what is GI joe ...
mc-fleury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 02:35 PM   #10
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

GI_Joes fakes global illumination so u can get nice clay renders with less effort for the comp
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 09:19 AM   #11
Bizzarostormy
Registered User
 
Bizzarostormy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 62
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

omg! you have to type it in the mel window ><; well now it works lmao im such a noober to scripts.. also how do I know which is line 57 >.> <.< TIA
-Jared
__________________
Looking for a Job
Aim :hondahunter614
My Portfolio
http://photobucket.com/albums/y157/bizzarostormy614/Portfolio/
Bizzarostormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 02:53 PM   #12
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Bizzarostormy -- to find line 57 in notepad go edit ->go to ( Ctrl+G) and type on 57
wolla line 57

onanother note i still cant get mine to work it says
Error: File not found.: e:/vfx/mans/GI_Joe/GIJoe.lights //

i have moved the file and changed its nace wct like the instructyions what should i do?
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 04:23 PM   #13
Bizzarostormy
Registered User
 
Bizzarostormy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 62
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It wont let me pick the go to option.. something im missing?
__________________
Looking for a Job
Aim :hondahunter614
My Portfolio
http://photobucket.com/albums/y157/bizzarostormy614/Portfolio/

Last edited by Bizzarostormy : 09-12-2005 at 04:27 PM.
Bizzarostormy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 04:54 PM   #14
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

in notepad????
right click the extrtacted file 'GI_Joe' - maya script file
open with -> notepad there shoul be lots of writing then do 'Ctrl+G' or edit got to
does it say ne thing or is it greyout?
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 05:04 PM   #15
Bizzarostormy
Registered User
 
Bizzarostormy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 62
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It is all greyed out
__________________
Looking for a Job
Aim :hondahunter614
My Portfolio
http://photobucket.com/albums/y157/bizzarostormy614/Portfolio/
Bizzarostormy is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.