Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 19-11-2009 , 06:06 PM
Subscriber

Extra RAM

Hi all. I was wondering if someone could give me some advice.
I have been trying to get to grips with zbrush lately, but am coming up against some brick walls when it comes to ram. There have been many times when I am told that I cant do something because of a lack of RAM. Im not really technically savvy, but I know there are quite a few on this forum who are...

I mean, i dont really know where to start. I presume you can buy different amounts of ram. Are there different types? Does it have to be brand/make specific? How do you install new/extra RAM? Im willing to spend the money if there is a genuine case for it. Would an extra dose of RAM be very noticeable?

Hoping someone can enlighten me...

# 2 19-11-2009 , 06:31 PM
The thin red line
first you need to know how much ram you have, go to my computer then view system imformation. that should bring up a window and at the bottom should be cpu and ram

# 3 19-11-2009 , 07:00 PM
Super Moderator
Do you know your machine's specs? This is the kind of situation where it's better that you have someone there in person because they can let you know what type of RAM you need and how much and also if you'd be wasting money buying old and expensive RAM because of an old mobo etc.

- Genny
# 4 19-11-2009 , 07:23 PM
Subscriber
ok. There is a guy lives locally to me who would be able to help for a small fee. I have a Philips freevents Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.4ghz.

4 Gig of Ram...32 bit OS

# 5 19-11-2009 , 07:54 PM
EduSciVis-er