Maya for 3D Printing - Rapid Prototyping
In this course we're going to look at something a little different, creating technically accurate 3D printed parts.
# 1 06-01-2009 , 11:49 PM

Floating Dollar Signs that Fade

I am a newbie. I got Maya 2009 for work and was asked to do what seems to be a simple animation:

Dollar signs that float up from one source in a random order and individually fade away or fade to black (black is the background color).

I’ve heard a particle emitter might be the best route, but can’t figure out how to change particles to dollar signs.

Any info would help. Thanks.

# 2 07-01-2009 , 12:05 AM
The Nurb Herd
instance it!

model the geometry and then i forget which menu its in but select the object and then the emiter and click on instace or make instance or whatever it is. then all you have to do is create and expression for the lifespan or something.
hope that wasnt too vague!

# 3 07-01-2009 , 05:06 AM
hammer.horror is correct.

One would use the particle instancer for this issue in combination with ramps and/or expressions to fade each particle over time as needed.

My larger worry for you, is that your employer "Got you" Maya without knowing if they had qualified artists/animators there to use it properly?

As you said yourself, you are new at Maya, so are they offering you qualified training from the VAR?

Maya is not like Poser or some "simple" tool with a set of presets that one can just click a "make it cool" button and expect Jurrassic Park, lol.

So if your employer did not get you training, then your best bet would be to read the help, OR worst-case, do a google search for "Maya Particle Instancer".

Good luck.

Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
# 4 07-01-2009 , 10:10 PM