Integrating 3D models with photography
Interested in integrating your 3D work with the real world? This might help
# 1 23-06-2007 , 06:33 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: India
Posts: 28

position of a vertex

Hi

How to get the value of the position of polygon vertex (x y z)...

What is the MEL command to get the value ...
Please some one reply me immediately..........

# 2 23-06-2007 , 07:12 PM
happymat27's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
open up the component editor (window > general editors > component editor) select your vert/s and their co-ordinates will show under the poly tab. If you can't see the tab use the scroll arrows that I've highlighted in green.

Hope that helps,

Mat.

Attached Thumbnails
# 3 23-06-2007 , 07:26 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: India
Posts: 28
Thank u....for the fast reply...

# 4 23-06-2007 , 07:40 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: India
Posts: 28
What is the Mel command to get those value...getAttr not working...what is the command????
Please help me!

# 5 23-06-2007 , 08:49 PM
happymat27's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
This will give you the world co-ordinates of your selected vert

pointPosition OBJECT.vtx[VTX No.];

and this will give you the local co-ordinates of your selected vert.

getAttr OBJECT.vtx[VTX No.];

OBJECT is the name of your poly object and VTX No. is the vertex number.

My example shows the results for vertex 2 on pCube1.

Hope that's what you're after,

Mat.

Attached Thumbnails
# 6 24-06-2007 , 05:12 AM
Alan's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
you have to remember about object space and world space. If you use that getAttr command on the vertex pos you may not always get the worldspace position.


So I would use the xform command (believe me it's your new best friend!) so I would use

string $obj = "myObject";
float $pos[] = `xform -q -ws -t ($obj + ".vtx[0]")`;

now you can use the array to access the postions:

print("pos: " + $pos[0] + " " + $pos[1] + " " + $pos[2]);

That's about it really

user added image
Alan


Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
# 7 24-06-2007 , 04:23 PM
gster123's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Could you not just simpify the script to

xform -q -t -ws;

(with the vertex in question selected before executing the script)


"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
# 8 24-06-2007 , 05:10 PM
Alan's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
well yes you could but why add that extra step into your script? it's less efficient to add in that selection change for EVERY vertex e.g.if you wanted to loop through the verts:


string $obj = "myObject";
int $numbVerts[] = `polyEvaluate -v $obj`;
int $i = 0;

for($i; $i < $numbVerts[0]; $i++)
{
float $pos[] = `xform -q -ws -t ($obj + ".vtx["+$i+"]")`;
print($obj + ".vtx["+$i+"] " + $pos[0] + " " + $pos[1] + " " + $pos[2] + "\n");
}

there's no need to change selection and thus no need to store the users current select to change back to at the end.

Alan


Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
# 9 24-06-2007 , 05:28 PM
gster123's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Suppose so

Just thought that the guy wanted to question one vertex.

Although your script would be great, for a more robust selections


"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
# 10 25-06-2007 , 01:55 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: India
Posts: 28
Thank for the replies...
I tried out with different changes in xform...its working nice....

Is there any command to verify the changes in attribute....(numerical changes) so that i dont want to assign any specific value in the script.

# 11 20-07-2007 , 08:15 AM
Falott's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
I have an additional question to this topic if you guys don´t mind.


I have 8 objects and I want to randomly duplicate and place them at every vertex' position of this base object. what I came up with is

string $obj = "body";
string $dupes = "dupes";
int $numbVerts[] = `polyEvaluate -v $obj`;
int $i = 0;

for($i; $i < $numbVerts[0]; $i++)
{
float $pos[] = `xform -q -ws -t ($obj + ".vtx["+$i+"]")`;
duplicate -rr $dupes;

setAttr "dupes.translateX" $pos[0];
setAttr "dupes.translateY" $pos[1];
setAttr "dupes.translateZ" $pos[2];

}


this is working for one duplicated object (dupes). but how would I take 8 objects and integrate the randomly duplicated versions of them into this script?

tia
falott


everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
# 12 20-07-2007 , 08:47 AM
Alan's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
rename your 8 objects to use the same stem and suffix that I have listed below, or change those strings to what you want. The suffix is important because you are using a * to match objects, if you dont have a suffix it will match the shape nodes as well and you don't want that. so make sure it's stem_ID_suffix!

Code:
string $stem = "dupes_";
string $suffix= "_GEO";

string $obj = "pPlane1";
//get a list of our objects, note that this is an array now
string $dupeSel[] = `ls ($stem + "*" + $suffix)`;
int $numbVerts[] = `polyEvaluate -v $obj`;
int $i = 0;

for($i; $i < $numbVerts[0]; $i++)
{

//pick an object to duplicate, by selecting a random int between 0 and the size of the array, Add one to bring it inline with our object IDs that start at 1
int $dupeInt = rand(0, size($dupeSel));
$dupeInt++;


float $pos[] = `xform -q -ws -t ($obj + ".vtx["+$i+"]")`;
//build up a string of which object to duplicate
string $new[] = `duplicate -rr ($stem + $dupeInt + $suffix)`;

setAttr ($new[0] + ".translateX") $pos[0];
setAttr ($new[0] + ".translateY") $pos[1];
setAttr ($new[0] + ".translateZ") $pos[2];

}
user added image
Alan


Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
# 13 20-07-2007 , 08:58 AM
Falott's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
woohooo!

that was real fast, thx a lot Alan. I´ll try it right now.


everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
# 14 20-07-2007 , 09:06 AM
Alan's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
no worries

Alan


Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
# 15 20-07-2007 , 09:38 AM
Falott's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
that was just perfect! after stupid me changed IDs from 0-7 to 1-8. I know you made a comment about that user added image

one last question is open for me. is it possible via scripting to align the orientation (let´s say z-axis) of the dupes along the normals of the baseSurface? I mean like the surfaceNormals pointing outwards... or would that be just a ridiculous amount of code to write?


besides that - you already made my life a lot easier today!


everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads