Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-05-2005, 04:50 PM   #1
phredrek
Registered User
 
phredrek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tokyo/Chiba - Japan
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question simple particles question about rendering

Hey everyone!
I've been away from Maya for two years and I've got this little problem that's bugging me.

the fire particles I've got aren't rendering.

I remember theres probably an easy solution like a checkbox has to be clicked or something turned on but I don't remember what it is. I've got some fire particles coming out of a few object emiters which I can see in my working/preview window but they don't render.
thanks for your time!

>Frederic.
phredrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2005, 05:20 PM   #2
astrocalder
Registered User
 
astrocalder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

particles need to be rendered with the hardware render buffer (HRB). i assume you've used it before, but forgot about it after two years... i'm no pro but if you need help with it maybe i can walk you through it. you'll probably be able to figure it out though.
astrocalder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2005, 10:18 PM   #3
alienscience
Subscriber
 
alienscience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: In the middle of nowhere in VA
Posts: 749
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Not all particles need to be hardware rendered, Im positive that streak and i think blobby surface need to be, but I cant remember the rest.
alienscience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2005, 03:51 AM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

In the attribute Editor for the particle shape, under PARTICLE TYPE, the drop-down list should say (SW) next to the specific SoftWare particle types

Everything else is Hardware
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2005, 06:28 AM   #5
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

For Maya 6 -- Blobby Surface, Tubes, and Cloud are software, the rest are hardware (though there is a raytracer around which does everything software... but aparently it takes frick'n forever and its not a free raytracer)

For fire I'd probably use Cloud for the particle type anyway.
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.