Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 1
This course will look at the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. We'll look at what makes a good model in Maya and why objects are modeled in the way they are.
# 1 29-12-2004 , 05:46 PM

X-Ray shortcut

In the tutorials you use an X-Ray shortcut now ive found a script which can do this only it does not say where i should put this?

And how can i make it a button on the custom menu ?

// Toggle Xray
//

string $visPanel[]=`getPanel -vis`;
int $mode;
if (size($visPanel)>0)
{
for ($panel in $visPanel)
{
if (`match "^modelPanel" $panel`=="modelPanel")
{
$mode=`modelEditor -q -xray $panel`;
if ($mode>0)
modelEditor -e -xray 0 $panel;
else
modelEditor -e -xray 1 $panel;
}
}
print ("\nxray="+$mode+".");
} else
print ("\nNo model panels to modify.");

# 2 29-12-2004 , 09:34 PM
Subscriber
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 74
Run in the script editor (bottom-left bottom in UI) from the pull-down menu, in the script editor, you can specify a shelf item....

Hope this helps....

# 3 30-12-2004 , 09:30 AM
blomkaal's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 816
Or you can run the script, select it in the script editor, and MMB drag it onto the shelf...

EDIT: The other way is probably better since you can then name the script...


Last edited by blomkaal; 30-12-2004 at 09:35 AM.
# 4 30-12-2004 , 12:23 PM
Ah works great thanks allot, user added image do you also know how i can modify the icon?

# 5 31-12-2004 , 04:18 AM
R-Tillery's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Heres the one I use, its a lot better. do the script editor thing.
____________________________________________


// declare variables

string $selected[];

string $hilited[];

string $object;

int $test[];

int $hold;



// assign values to variables for selected objects

$selected = `ls -sl -dag -ap -typ surfaceShape`;

$hilited = `ls -hl -dag -ap -typ surfaceShape`;



// loop through any objects in component mode

// and toggle their x-ray display

for ($object in $hilited){

$test = `displaySurface -q -xRay $object`;

$hold = $test[0];

if ($hold != false)

displaySurface -xRay false $object;

else

displaySurface -xRay true $object;



// clear test variable

clear $test;

}



// loop through any objects in object mode

// and toggle their x-ray display

for ($object in $selected){

$test = `displaySurface -q -xRay $object`;

$hold = $test[0];

if ($hold != false)

displaySurface -xRay false $object;

else

displaySurface -xRay true $object;



// clear test variable

clear $test;

}



// clear selection variables

clear $selected;

clear $hilited;

// Result: 0 //

# 6 01-01-2005 , 06:20 PM
hmm your does not seem to work? also why is yours better ?

Ah nevermind i see nw it only x-rays selected parts this is better thanks user added image


Last edited by pixelsoul; 01-01-2005 at 06:23 PM.
# 7 01-01-2005 , 09:27 PM
R-Tillery's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
It works gooduser added image

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads