Beer glass scene creation
This course contains a little bit of everything with modeling, UVing, texturing and dynamics in Maya, as well as compositing multilayered EXR's in Photoshop.
# 1 15-04-2015 , 08:05 PM

Bifrost

Hello! I'm just getting into fluids but I've been testing and reading up on bifrost for about 3 weeks now.

seems like not many people are using bifrost anymore.. but hopefully someone can help..Here's what i got:

the boat is around 2.5 units so thats 2.5 meters to bifrost right? it kinda looks like this is a 2.5 cm boat still when you see how big the blobs of water are..

container - 15x2x20
mvs - .05
transport step - .98
max steps - 5000
droplet threshold - .1
mergeback - .1
surface bandwidth - .1
surface density - 3
voriticity is off
stickyness/bandwidth - .12

meshing:
droplet reveal - 5
surface rad - 1.2
resolution - 2

I just thought I'd post something while I wait for my scratch cache to finish. =p

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 16-04-2015 , 04:17 AM
Technical Director

Imagination is more important than knowledge.

Last edited by NextDesign; 17-04-2015 at 06:14 AM.
# 3 16-04-2015 , 06:13 PM
Thanks for the reply!
I did read that documentation before but it seemed like many people with good results ignored keeping the scale the same.
For example this vid:
https://vimeo.com/91709811
- container size was 100x3x30 in cm i assume... so his catamaran should be like 25cm big, however it still looks like its bigger than that.

But aside from that, if I scale my boat up from 2.5 -> 250 units, My container will need to be really large as well. However I doubt I can fill that large a container with mvs-.05 particles. So I'd have to increase mvs ..but wont that just make it the same droplet to boat proportions I have now? - just bigger?

# 4 17-04-2015 , 02:51 AM
I thought I understood this but the more info I find the more I question what I understand..

maya's grid is 1cm default, bifrost sees any unit as 1m